Genius Problems

Discussion in 'iPod' started by supermac1, Sep 9, 2009.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #1
    When i try to turn on genius and upload my info to itunes, it keeps saying there is a connection problem with itunes. Anyone else having this problem?
     
  2. Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #2
    I didn't have that problem, but if everyone is trying to connect at the same time, it wouldn't surprise me if Apple's servers are overloaded.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #3
    Ugh. I just tried it on my sisters computer and it worked quickly. Now i dont know what to do.
     
  4. Guest

    Surely

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    Try quitting iTunes and restarting it. Then try Genius again.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #5
    Tried several times. Doesn’t help.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
  7. macrumors 68020

    ipedro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #7
    I have the same issue. I quit iTunes, restarted the Mac, went through the process of turning off the Genius and then turning it back on... I still get the message:

    We could not complete your iTunes Store request.
    The network connection was lost.
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    ipedro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #8
    Found a Solution

    I found a fix.

    Quit iTunes, then Delete the iTunes Library Genius.itdb file in the parent iTunes folder.

    When you go back into iTunes, follow the regular procedure to enable Genius and it works.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #9
    Just tried this, unfortunately still doesn’t seem to be working for me :confused:
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    ipedro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #10
    Yeah, false alarm :(

    What it did was allow iTunes to gather information about your library which delayed the error message for a while. The problem happens when iTunes tries to send the results to Apple.

    I'm calling AppleCare in the morning to troubleshoot this.
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #11
    Report back with what they say, if you don’t mind? :eek:
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    ipedro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #12
    Now I Fixed It!

    Damn it! That was a tough cookie to crack!

    Cookies!! Quit iTunes then go to your /user/library folder and move the Cookies folder to the desktop or delete it.

    Turn on Genius. It works!

    There must be some weird setting saved in cookies with an incorrect URL to send the info to Apple.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    #13
    Finally! It works

    Although I noticed that if I had Safari open while I did this it didn’t seem to have an effect (might just be something with my Mac though)
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    cosmokanga2

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Canada, where we live in igloos.
    #14
    Works! Thanks a zillion.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    #15
    You could have found this solution at Apple's Discussion Board quicker: http://discussions.apple.com/message.jspa?messageID=10167163#10167163
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    #16
    Don't blow away all your cookies

    If you don't want to blow away all of your cookies, just open Safari's preferences, and under the Security tab click the Show Cookies button. Search iTune and remove that cookie. This worked for me.
     

Share This Page