Gentoo on my iMac 333

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Togglehead, Mar 7, 2007.

  1. Togglehead macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Location:
    Jersey
    #1
    Ok....so...ive done tons of searches and i cant seem to find the answer to this one...

    First off let me start by saying this forum helped me a TON getting panther on my wallstreet....i still use that notebook daily....and i love it.

    Now....also let me say that i am basically a linux beginner. I understand basic concepts of how it works...and i can navigate around the filesystem ok....but im not fluent in the commands by any means. Actually...im just going thorugh my first manual setup now....

    Which brings me to my question. Im trying to install the latest gentoo release on my iMac 333. Bone stock as far as i know....

    This is where im at. I just created the partitions...and the file structure. I chose the ReiserFS from the good things ive heard about it. Then....it told me to setup Portage.....whatever THAT is.

    so i used "links" to DL the file from a mirror....to the /mnt/gentoo/ directory....which is a tmp file directory from what i understand. Now....it then tells me to extract the file using a "C" switch, to the /mnt/gentoo/usr directory.....

    This directory doesnt exist. Ok...fine. I'll make it. mkdir ./usr no problem.

    Now i extract there....starts writing...but every line has a "cannot write here" after it....lame.

    checking the mount tables....it tells me the /mnt/gentoo directory is read only.... why would the install notes tell me to do this..if i cant?

    Basically..im stuck at the portage extract....help?
     
  2. rfruth macrumors regular

    rfruth

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
  3. Togglehead thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Location:
    Jersey
  4. live4ever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Location:
    Thunder Bay, ON
    #4
    Are you going to compile Gentoo from the source? I think that would take forever on 333MHz, no?
     
  5. Togglehead thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Location:
    Jersey
    #5
    im compiling if off a CD.....im patient. =]

    And i found my issue..... i forgot to mount the freaking hda to the right directory...

    ..i know i know....am i SURE i should be playing with this? =P
     

Share This Page