Getting a Desktop

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Guitarius, Dec 6, 2004.

1. Guitarius macrumors 6502a

Guitarius

Well...a few months ago, I switched from PCs to Macs by getting myself an iBook. I love it. I love Macs. I hardly ever use my desktop PC anymore. I'm mostly on my laptop. But I've found that staring at the rather small screen until the wee hours of the morning kind of wears on my eyes. So, how do we fix this? I've decided to get myself a desktop. But...I just don't know what to get. Of course, I'd love to get one of those dual processing Power Mac G5's...but let's face it, its rather pricey, and I just don't need that sort of thing. My computer usage is really rather limited to word processing (I'm a writer), listening to music, and surfing the web. I'm considering one of the iMac G5's. But with 3 different models, which one to get. Any and all advice on this matter would be greatly appreciated.

2. maya macrumors 68040

maya

You can use the "screen spanning hack" for the iBook and connect a larger screen to the iBook. use google for the hack.

I cam sure you can find a cheap LCD or CRT on the web. If the iBook you have works for you and all you need is a larger screen there is not need to buy a 20 inch Cinema Display or an iMac G5. It all depends on your budget in the end and your needs.

Best to you, hope that helps. :)

3. OryHara macrumors regular

if all you do is word processing, listen to music and surf the web, the 17" 1.6Ghz model should do just fine. For your needs i dont think the 20" screen is worth an extra $600.

Edit: Well he makes a good point too

4. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

well if you have a monitor around already, why not get the single processor Powermac, it gives you a bit more longevity with being able to upgrade the graphics card and that

or the screen spanning hack is always an option

5. Makosuke macrumors 603