Getting a new HD, how should I go about this.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by djhspawn, Jan 16, 2007.

  1. djhspawn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    #1
    I have a new Maxtor 500GB on the way right now. I would like a little assistance if possible with how to go about setting this up. Now currently I have my 160GB HD partitioned for windows as well. I really dont care about wiping windows since I only use it for gaming. But I would like to transfer everything that my OSX partition has onto the 500GB just like nothing ever happened, and then have the 160GB HD for windows alone. Is this possible? Whats the easiest way to go about it? Your help is apreciated.
     
  2. tyr2 macrumors 6502a

    tyr2

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #2
    Probably the easiest method is to reinstall OS X (from the DVD) on to the new drive then use the Migration Assistant to move everything on your current disk to the new one. This moved all my apps and all the users home directories when I tried it.

    Check everything you want has been moved then wipe the original and reinstall XP.
     
  3. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #3
    The other option is to use carbon copy cloner to move all the files. Boot off the 500 gb. Then wipe the 160.
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Also depending what machine you have -- Bootcamp IIRC must be installed on an internal SATA drive, not on an external drive.
     
  5. djhspawn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    #5
    Thanks for the help folks. I beleive the first suggestion will be the best for me. But will that also migtrate my Windows partition? Also, I have never done a fresh install of OSX before. Do I just install the new HD and put the DVD in the tray? I asume its easy I just want to be sure.
     
  6. tyr2 macrumors 6502a

    tyr2

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #6
    No it won't migrate your Windows partition, it's probably easiest if you can delete it and start again. Not sure what tools are out there for resizing a bootcamp partition if any.

    Yeah pretty much, just boot from the dvd and select the new drive when asked. When the Migration Assistant launches pick 'Migrate from another partition on this Mac' and pick the original boot drive.
     
  7. djhspawn thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    #7

    You folks are awsome, thanks for all the help.
     

Share This Page