Getting a Nintendo DS online Via Internet Sharing

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Eidorian, Nov 16, 2005.

  1. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #1
    I don't have a router right now in my dorm room but I do have my iMac G5 plugged into ehternet and it has an Airport Extreme card built-in to it.

    I've turned on Internet Sharing under the Sharing preference pane. It's just a temporary unsecured network for my DS. I turn it on and off if I'm playing or not.

    My DS can see the network my AirPort Extreme makes. I try to test the connection but my DS fails to get an IP address via DHCP.

    1. Where are the controls for DHCP on Internet Sharing?
    2. Is it possible to give my DS a static IP if DHCP doesn't work?
     
  2. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #2
    I don't have an answer, but this thread over at Macworld has been started.

    You might want to check it to see if anyone over there has suggestions.

    THREAD
     
  3. Eidorian thread starter macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    Yeah I've already turned on Internet Sharing. It's just that my iMac isn't giving out IP's. I'll need a laptop to figure out how it's handling that.
     
  4. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #4
    Yeah, I was giving you that link in case someone over there figured it out. You're basically trying to do the same thing as the other guy.

    I'm not sure why you need a laptop, though.

    Anyways, you're iMac is able to create a network, but it's not giving out IP addresses? Is that correct?

    Are you creating an Ad-Hoc network as well? I don't think that would work. I'm still kinda unclear as to what you've got going currently. Yeah, I'm sort of slow ;).

    ft
     
  5. Eidorian thread starter macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    Well I'd like any network. :D What's the differences between and ad-hoc one and normal wireless network? I have the MAC address for my DS. Would that help?

    The laptop would be used to see if it could get an IP from my iMac and what IP it gets if it does.
     
  6. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #6
    Here's what I think I know.

    An Ad-Hoc network is set up between two computers (or devices). Think of it as a wireless cross-over ethernet cable. I don't think that you can do Internet Sharing while an Ad-Hoc network is being broadcast.

    I think what you want to do is have the iMac connected to the network via Ethernet. Then, you want to create a "software base station" using the iMac's Airport Extreme card so that the iMac becomes a router. Then, the DS would grab an IP address from the iMac/software router and you'd be set.

    OK, you should do a google search (or even one on this forum) using the terms OS X software base station. That will get you started.

    If you do figure this out, you might want to post in the other forum.

    ft
     
  7. Eidorian thread starter macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    I've aleady told my iMac to share its ethernet internet connection through the Airport Extreme card in it. My DS sees the network and connects to it. However, my DS tests the network and get an error. The error tells me that something is wrong with DHCP and it can't get an IP address.

    My iMac is basically a wireless router when the Internet Sharing via Airport Extreme is turned on. I just don't know how it handles DHCP or IP addresses to external devices trying to connect to the internet through it.

    http://www.nintendowifi.com/customersupport/troubleshoot.do?error=52000&x=0&y=0

    My error code is: 52000

    I'm sorry if I was vague earlier.
     
  8. Eidorian thread starter macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    I found an answer to my question after improving my Google-fu.

    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054847896

     
  9. ftaok macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #9
    Eidorian,

    Did it work? If so, could you tell us what you did?

    Thanks.

    ft
     

Share This Page