Getting a Powermac G4 online

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by tkidBOSTON, Sep 7, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    tkidBOSTON

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Location:
    The Hub of the Universe
    #1
    I'm trying to get 2 recently acquired machines online and can't seem to figure out how. Here are the facts and some possible pertinent information. Hopefully someone can help me out...

    • I have 2 400Mhz Powermac G4s without wireless cards.
    • I have no access to a physical ethernet line.
    • I do, however, have 2 unused airport express base stations.

    Can someone either point me to a place where I can purchase a wireless card for the machines (my understanding is the Airport Extreme card sold at the Apple store these days will not be compatible?) or point me to instructions on how to use my airport expresses to get online (if thats even possible)?

    Thanks!!
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Rustman

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #2
    Well, I'm using a BT Voyager 1040 card in my G4 900Mhz tower and it works just dandy. Even identifies itself as an Airport card. In fact it works better in my Mac than it ever did in my PC.

    Just slot it in, turn the Mac on... BAM! It works!
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tkidBOSTON

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Location:
    The Hub of the Universe
    #3
    Anyone have any other solutions?

    Or can you provide a link to somewhere I can purchase a solution in the US?
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    MorzillA

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Miami
    #4
    hmmm I don't have an airport express nor a wireless card on my PMG4 but I connected to the router that we use for my G/F's PC (she is wireless) and that [router] is connected to the modem from Bellsouth/ATT and BOOM! I was connected and organizing my web experience, I have had no problems since.
    Look at the back of your PMG4 and you should see TWO phone like slots. The one that is closest to the top is the one you connect to the modem and the modem....well you know!
    Anywhoo give this a try and PLEASE let me know how it turns out.


    :apple:
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tkidBOSTON

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Location:
    The Hub of the Universe
    #5
    My problem is I don't have access to the modem/ router as they're on the first floor of my apartment. I'm trying to connect my powermac on the second floor without having to run wires. I thought maybe there was a way to use the airport express to connect to the router and then connect my powermac to that using an ethernet cord.
    Otherwise I'm willing to buy a reasonably priced wireless card but don't know where I can find one that will work with the machine (my understanding is the current airport card being sold at the Apple store will not work).
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    spinne1

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Hermitage, TN USA (near Nashville)
    #6
    Ebay is your best bet for a wireless card. Get the original Airport card:

    http://search.ebay.com/search/searc...=compare&copagenum=1&coentrypage=search&fgtp=
     
  7. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    I had a feeling you could you the base stations as a bridge to the Power Macs. That might only be the Airport Express though.

    And for what it's worth.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    MorzillA

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Miami
    #8
  9. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    I just sold mine for $47 shipped. It's less then I wanted but I did get it sold! :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page