Getting .avi's to work in Front Row

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jive, Apr 14, 2006.

  1. jive macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #1
    I can't watch avi in Quicktime (for which I use VLC) but that doesn't work in Front Row so what codecs do I need to install? I've got DIVX already.


    Any help is appreciated.


    jive
     
  2. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #2
    There are several threads about this already on this board. I suggest you look at them. Also you don't say what sort of AVI the file is.

    AVI is a container format, the actual required codec for the file could be any number of things.
     
  3. jive thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #3
    How would I go about finding out what sort of avi they are? Sorry I'm new to Macs (and this board).


    Cheers for the help though :]
     
  4. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #4
    Yeah, you know - this is a difficult question to answer. I have a question however: Do you have an Intel Mac or a PPC Mac?
     
  5. jive thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #5
    Machine Name: iMac
    Machine Model: iMac4,1
    CPU Type: Intel Core Duo
    Number Of Cores: 2
    CPU Speed: 1.83 GHz
    L2 Cache (shared): 2 MB
    Memory: 2 GB
     
  6. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #6
    OK. I'm guessing the file you want to play is a WMV file. Unfortunately the main codec for Mac to play these files (Flip4Mac) doesn't yet work on an Intel Mac. However there is an alternative codec available, but its location on the net eludes me right now.... I'll get back to you.
     
  7. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #7
  8. jive thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #8
    I downloaded something from popwire.com and it seems to let avis and wmvs work in quicktie ith no problem.


    Hurrah! Futurama with a remote!
     
  9. jbt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Location:
    Hatfield, UK
    #9
    i can recommend the latest beta of divx for intel mac, it fixed a lot of problems i was having with avi files that weren't behaving properly. now all my avi's work in quicktime and frontrow

    http://labs.divx.com/node/157
     
  10. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #10
    Anyone else have AC3 issues...?

    Sometimes (not always) front Row unexpectidly quits when opening a movie using AC3 codec.
    That same movie also lets QuickTime Player crash sometimes. Problem is... not always.
     
  11. tastrike macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007

Share This Page