Getting My OS X DVD onto my Lombard (CD)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mjstew33, Mar 2, 2006.

  1. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #1
    I'm stuck.

    I need to get Mac OS X Panther DVD onto my Lombard (CD). Is there any way to get it on there?

    It doesn't have FireWire. HOW!? :(

    I thought about this: I install it on my external HD, then I somehow put the installed files on the external HD onto my Lombard.

    Is it possible?
    I really don't want to buy the Panther disks and I don't want to pay Apple $10 for CDs (exchange or w/e)

    Help?

    Oh and btw, I did search, nothing came up. :eek:
     
  2. Daedalus256 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #2
    grab a DVD drive for it! I have a 6x DVD-ROM from a Pismo in mine and it reads DVDs just fine (installed iLife using it)

    Your other options would be to set up a network drive. You'd need some crossover cable for that though.
     
  3. mjstew33 thread starter macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #3
    Ohhhh. Now how would I go about doing that? :eek: :D

    I have a server... so, would that help?

    It's an iBook running as a server, basically, not OS X Server, just Mac OS X 10.4.5.
     
  4. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #4
    forget the server part.......

    just get a Cat5 Crossover ethernet cable, connect it to both macs, start them up, mount the lombard's HD on your iBook desktop, insert the tiger DVD into the iBook, and select the lombard's HDD as the drive to install to....

    just like Target disk mode, except w/o firewire :D
     
  5. mjstew33 thread starter macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #5
    sweet. A regular ethernet cable won't work?
     
  6. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #6
    No it wont...
    If both machines were newer, it would, since the newer ones have auto-sensing ethernet ports, but the Lombard doesnt have these :)

    And you have specifically LOOK for or ASK for a crossover cable. They appear to be the same on the outside, but c/o's are wired/pinned out differently.....
     
  7. mjstew33 thread starter macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
  8. mjstew33 thread starter macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #8
    Ok guys, i'm really starting to get fustrated here.

    I need Panther on this PowerBook! I'm going to get a crossover cable tomorrow, how do I make it where I can install the OS onto the PowerBook from my iBook? When I put my disk in, it asks me to restart, then how do I mount the disk with a crossover cable and how the heck do I make it where I can mount it in the installation process?
    Oh, and, how could I install it while the PowerBook is on, and to the desktop?

    God I hate not having FireWire.
     
  9. mjstew33 thread starter macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #9
    SOMEONE?! I really need help! :eek: :(
    Here's the situation... again:
     
  10. Daedalus256 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #10
    Well if you didnt know crossover cable allows transmission of data both ways on the cable (hence...uh crossover) compared to a single direction of your usual CAT5 Patch cable. ANYWAY!

    You should be able to just plug one end into each computer and then perhaps connect to your G4 or whatever using the G3 Pbook (typical network -> connect? I've never done this, just guessing)

    If this was windows you could actually just share the drive on your network, that's one thing windows has going for it, heh.
     
  11. mjstew33 thread starter macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #11
    I went to my neighbors and asked if he had an OS X 10.3 CD, he did and let me borrow it. This is legal, because I do have a license.

    It's updating to 10.3.9 now. :D
     

Share This Page