...getting ready to cross the line and buy Apple!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by 0s and 1s, Mar 7, 2004.

1. 0s and 1s macrumors 6502a

0s and 1s

Hi all, long time, first time here...

I'm a Computer Science major student considering purchasing the 14" iBook with the Student Developers discount and was wondering if there are any people out there who would advise me NOT to buy a Mac. I haven't touched an Apple since the IIe days and I'm tired of Windows! I'm doing a lot of Java programming and I hope to continue doing so on an Apple without a problem. In regards to VPC, does it work as a dual boot, or simply as another app on the computer?

Also, I'm considering of starting a business that will involve a lot of digital pictures and video capturing. Are the programs installed "easy" enough that a clueless person such as myself or Jessica Simpson for that matter could use it? Any help/advice/insults would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

2. hughdogg macrumors member

Springfield, MA - Birthplace of Basketball

I doubt your going to get a lot of takers on this board talking you out of a Mac. As a switcher myself, I love mine, and wouldn't go back to Windows.

Can't help on the Java and VPC questions, sorry.

The iLife software is very, very easy to use. A little limited in some functions, especially if you are planning to use them for business. Take advantage of you student discount and stock up on the Pro software now. Once you get used to iMovie, you can start working on Final Cut Express (which is much more feature filled than iMovie) But if you are looking for easy, the iLife software is it! Plus, you plug in a camera, or camcorder and it just works. (Don't know about Jessica Simpson though, there are limits as to how user friendly you could make any software. :D )

Actually you could say the same thing about the whole Mac experience, it just works.

Cheers, and good luck,
    hughdogg

3. Grimace macrumors 68040

Grimace