getting to a networked PC off my MBP?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mark2288, Jul 4, 2006.

  1. mark2288 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    #1
    I have all my 3 PCs and MBP on a wireless network. The PC hosts the router. I was usually able to connect to one of the PCs and access the external HDD from the MBP, but when I go to do it now, it says something about the alias being wrong and the MBP can only successfully get on one of my PCs?

    Any help?
     
  2. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    I'm assuming you're using the Windows networking option..

    This happens to me all the time. I have one piece of advice, restart EVERTHING. The computers, router, etc... wireless cards.

    The protocol was created by Microsoft, we can't expect it to work very well.

    I gave up and setup an ftp server for my external drive connected to one of the PCs. It works more reliably and is just as fast.
     
  3. Jordan6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    #3
    I have a PC and a iBook/iMac wireless setup also, but how do i setup my iBook/iMac to see my PC?

    im kinda slow with this stuff so those technically words is definitely gonna lose me:) :) :)
     
  4. mark2288 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    #4
    iDuck...can you tell me how set up an FTP to get to my external?
     
  5. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    http://www.cerberusftp.com/download.htm
    Thats a pretty good one. Just install it, and set it up. Basically, once its installed, you'll have to create a user and assign it to the d:/ (or whatever you external is set to) and your golden.

    You'll be able to access the drive from the PCs intranet (LAN) address, and if you setup DMZ on your routerm you'll even be able to acess the drive anywhere connected to the internet in the same fashion.

    This is all pretty easy, but it does take a while to get used to. I'd just make sure you've done everything you can to get the Windows Networking running properly, as it is a little less painless in the short-term.
     
  6. Moe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    #6
    If you have the PCs on the network set up to get their IP addresses through DHCP, and their lease expires or they get rebooted, the IP address can change and break your aliases. Configure them with static IP addresses and that won't happen any more.
     

Share This Page