Getting two copies of my iDisk on my desktop

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by Benbikeman, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Benbikeman

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Location:
    London, England
    #1
    I have my iDisk set to login automatically on startup. That drive appears on my desktop with my mobileme ID and works fine.

    But, I also get a second copy, with -1 tacked on the end. This appears to be an exact duplicate. I can't eject it, as sync is on. So, I have to go to System Prefs -> Mobile Me, and stop the sync. Then I can eject the dupe and restart sync. I have to do this every restart.

    Any ideas what is happening and how to fix it?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Sounds like the -1 is the real one

    guessing but this is what looks like might have happened

    you had iDisk local syncing on
    this was turned off, so it creates a local version of it (the one without -1)
    iDisk syncing was turned back on again, it couldn't create the correct one so it created the -1 version

    I would try this to fix

    turn off iDisk syncing (this might create another one on your desktop)
    any iDisk folders on desktop, rename to something else (check to see if anything you need in them and then delete)
    turn iDisk syncing back on

    fingers crossed should only be one
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Benbikeman

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    Thanks for the fast reply.

    > Sounds like the -1 is the real one

    They're both real AFAICS (both work, both seem identical).

    > I would try this to fix
    > turn off iDisk syncing (this might create another one on your desktop)
    > any iDisk folders on desktop, rename to something else (check to see if anything you need in them and then delete)
    > turn iDisk syncing back on

    When I turn off sync, I get a standard folder called something like 'Previous iDisk folders'. When I turn sync back on, it goes back to the original and dupe.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    When you turn the syncing off and get Previous iDisk folder, do either of the other 2 stay or do both disappear
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Benbikeman

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    I'll check that. I need to restart to do it, and the Mac currently doing a large file upload, so will be about an hour before I can restart.
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    I am hoping it is going to leave the iDisk without -1 on your desktop, then deleting this and re enabling sync will put things as they should be
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Benbikeman

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Location:
    London, England
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Benbikeman

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Location:
    London, England
    #8
    Ok, when I stopped the sync this time, the main disk disappeared from the desktop and the -1 one remained.

    The problem seems to be that it's trying to connect twice at login. When I watch it startup, it mounts the idisk on its own first (it's ticked as a login item in System Prefs -> Accounts -> Login) then it brings up a dialogue asking me for my password. When I enter that, I get the dupe.

    I can of course cancel it at that point, but would like to stop it doing that.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    It is a while since I used this (ran out of disk space so had to stop the syncing)

    Does it need to be an item in the login pref?

    I dont have syncing enabled, but iDisk is on my desktop (which is similar but I access directly instead of have a local copy) and I don't have any login items for this
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Benbikeman

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Location:
    London, England
    #10
    Thanks!

    I assumed it had to be a login item as there was a checkbox for it, and I had to check those to auto-mount other network drives (I have a Time Capsule with another drive hanging off the USB port of that). When I unchecked that, and rebooted, I got only the one copy.

    No idea why it's a checkbox since it seems it isn't needed and in fact causes problems, but no matter, problem solved. :)
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    paulsalter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    nice one, thanks for letting me know it's fixed :)
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Benbikeman

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Location:
    London, England
    #12
    Always. It's a pet hate of mine when people ask for help, get it and then don't report back. (Can't see how to edit the subject line to give it a 'Resolved:' prefix, though.)
     

Share This Page