Getting Two Macs to Talk

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mashinhead, Apr 11, 2006.

  1. mashinhead macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #1
    I have a powermac and powerbook, file sharing is turned on, on both. I even tried dropping the files i need in the drop box of the PM, but nothing is showing up, how do i get them to talk.
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    How do you know nothing is showing up?

    You cannot see into the PM's drop box from the PB.

    Try logging into the PM from ther PB with the same username and password you use to start the PM... this shoud give you access to the whole drive.
     
  3. mashinhead thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #3
    well i look under network and navigate to the drop box and the desktop of the pm through the finder window. It doesn prompt me for a pword. How do i log into that?
     
  4. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #4
    I've found that a couple drinks makes it much easier for two Macs to talk to each other.
     
  5. ricksbrain macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #5
    it's not too difficult

    In the finder menu click on "Go." Either click on "Network" or "Connect to Server."

    If file sharing is on and your wireless stuff is working (I'm only familiar with wireless connections, though I think it's much the same via ethernet), your Macs should show up in the servers window and you can select to connect-- you'll be prompted for passwords, etc. The macs will appear as different hardrives/volumes on your desktop and you can drag and drop stuff to and from them...
     
  6. mashinhead thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #6
    What drinks? I tried that before, they both passed out
     
  7. mashinhead thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #7

    Where exactly is go?


    *edit* found it
     
  8. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
  9. live4ever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Location:
    Thunder Bay, ON
  10. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #10
    Well, perhaps you shouldn't be using Everclear then. :p
     
  11. mashinhead thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #11


    Yeah i remember doing this before fine, but when i go there the other computer doesn't show up. file sharing is on,on both. Also i DL drop copy, and it asks for an IP to add a destination. where do i find this?
     
  12. mashinhead thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    #12


    great but how do i configure it, it asks for a host or ip addy, Sadly i don't really know it. any assistance?
     
  13. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #13
    here's how i do it:

    finder->Go -> connect to server

    type in: smb:// ip address/ (find this by going to system preferences, then network, and then go to your connection - if wireless, click TCP/IP, and you'll see it

    then you'll have to change the username and password, and that's it
     

Share This Page