Getting Xbox 360 Online

Discussion in 'Games' started by iEdd, Mar 26, 2006.

  1. iEdd macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    My brother bought an Xbox 360 and for a microsoft product, it is quite impressive (other than the novelty-sized power adaptor). Anyway, he has the pismo (in sig) and I tried to use that with an ethernet cable to give it wireless internet, but it didn't work...
    First I went to preferences/sharing and turned on internet sharing through ethernet. Then I gave the xbox a unique IP address, like 192.168.1.128 or similar. I then made the subnet mask 255.255.255.0, but the gateway thing confuses me, I can enter a random number, but it does the network test and says "IP address -Failed". If I click more info it says the gateway is incorrect. On my router page (192.168.1.1), the gateway just says 0.0.0.0, but the 360 will not allow it to be 0.0.0.0
    Any ideas?
     
  2. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Ok explain the setup first.

    Is the 360 connected directly to your router?
    Is the 360 connected to a mac?
    How's the mac connected to the internet?
    What router are you using?

    What's the ip address of the mac your connected to?
    Is internet sharing & windows sharing enabled?
    What's the ip address fo the router your connected to?

    --------------
    All those things effect the required info need to setup ip address and dns address within the 360.... Without those we can't help I'm afraid...
     
  3. iEdd thread starter macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Sorry, I didn't explain it too well.
    Is the 360 connected directly to your router?
    No.
    Is the 360 connected to a mac?
    Yes, ethernet to the pismo.
    How's the mac connected to the internet?
    Airport. An A-Extreme base-station is connected to the router.
    What router are you using?
    Netcomm NB1300

    What's the ip address of the mac your connected to?
    192.168.1.7
    Is internet sharing & windows sharing enabled?
    Internet sharing, yes. Windows sharing, no.
    What's the ip address fo the router your connected to?
    192.168.1.1
     
  4. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    Ok here's somthing to try.

    IP address of your 360.

    192.168.1.8

    Subnet 255.255.255 0

    Gateway: is the IP ADDRESS of your mac - (make sure your mac is fixed ip address) 192.168.1.7

    ----

    DNS: is the IP ADDRESS of your router + 1 incremental so

    Primary 192.168.1.1
    Secondary 192.168.1.2




    Give that a go :)
     
  5. iEdd thread starter macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Ok, I tried it and seem to have gotten one step further, although it still fails in the IP test thing.. Instead of "incorrect gateway address" (or similar), I got "No response from Gateway address". I turned on windows sharing AND tried both the airport IP (192.168.1.7) and the ethernet IP (can't remember it off by heart). Anything else that might do it?
     
  6. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    Ok forgot to say


    ON THE MAC

    the IP address for the 360 Gateway setting is the IP address on the Airport section as the Airport is your gateway, not the ethernet. That makes a big difference.

    So make sure the 192.168.1.7 is airport not ethernet, if it isnt put in the airport address (and makes sure it's manual not dhcp as that could change everytime you bootup)


    In fact you may have to may ahve to assign a manual ip to the ethernet too, but do the above first :)
     
  7. iEdd thread starter macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    Oh.. that might be it. All the computers in my sig are auto DHCP AfAIK. Does this mean I have to redo them all as manual?
    Thanks for all the help btw. :)
    EDIT: The IPv4 thing, that is? (I feel like such a newb...:p)
     
  8. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    Yep just assign them as DHCP with manual address.

    Give your airport : 192.168.1.7

    Give you ethernet : 192.168.1.6

    Only on the mac your going through do you need to do this. :)


    You could also try changing apple talk. enable it for the airport first. If it pasts all the tests including DNS your grand, if still have problems, enable it on the ethernet.. I cant remember how I set mine up because I ended up going out and buying the 360 wireless adapter, just so I could move my 360 around the house.... :) :) Good luck with it...
     

Share This Page