GHz Myth?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by exbox, Oct 2, 2002.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Location:
    sneaking up behind you with a knife...
    #1
    just found a funny typo on this site. I attached a photo if the site decides to fix this huge typo.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
    :confused:
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    beez7777

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Location:
    Notre Dame
    #3
    isn't this the same site that had the 1.5 ghz powermacs?
     
  4. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #4
    It's ProMax again, but that site has so many interesting typos lately - it's hard to understand what's going on.

    Like before, the body text doesn't look too bad.
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #5
    But its funny to see the typos in the specs and not in the price....

    LCD iMac for 199.99!!!

    D :D
     
  6. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #6
    OS X 10.2 for $20000+ wasn't funny enough? :D

    I'm not sure if it was ProMax with that error, but I found it funny.

    Eventually there will be a uMac in our future at 1.6MHz. :p :p
     
  7. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #7
    :buys the 800 GHz mac: gets proof needed for site to get order.
    :takes advantage of the deal :
    :D
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #8
    as you can see the [title] is 800GHz...its called puffing up your search engine hits and hopefully seeing results in sales. since the body states clearly that its 800MHz, they would claim no responsibility for the typo. Some businesses just have ZERO ethics.
     
  9. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #9
    *cough* Sarcasm in my last post *cough*
    Idiot ;) J/k
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #10
    lol i wasnt even addressing you :)

    i was just commenting on the complete lack of ethics with some online retailers. to me its an obvious 'mis'print done on purpose.
     
  11. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #11
    And Some retailers do it for publisity for people to go to there site.
    :) Even better.
     
  12. macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #12
    i never thought about all these weird typos being deliberate. those scoundrels!!:eek:
     
  13. macrumors 604

    scem0

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    back in NYC!
    #13
    Anyone who buys from that site just because it says 800 GHz I would slap. That is just plain idiotic...
     
  14. macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #14
    These guys are a riot. :rolleyes: Dual 1.5GHz PowerMacs and 800GHz iMacs. The titles and main listing are consistantly incorrect, but the descriptions are accurate. This can only be hurting their sales, not helping it. I would NEVER buy from an online store that has contradicting specs, even if I knew what the correct ones were. To me it says these guys couldn't care less about accuracy, so they definitely wouldn't get my money.
     

Share This Page