give me a reason to get a mac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by twoodcc, Feb 3, 2005.

1. twoodcc macrumors P6

twoodcc

i'm a college student, and it seems in every class i have, there's someone with a mac. i've read alot about them, how they are better at video editing, multitasking, etc. i'm curious about the new operating system.

but right now i have 2 laptops and 1 desktop (computer informations systems major).

first laptop is an hp dv1040us. i take it to class everyday. i haven't had it long. maybe 3-4 months or so. here are the specs:
    p-M 1.6 ghz
    intergrated graphics (32 mb of ram)
    1 gb of ram (minus the 32 - 992, or whatever)
    60 gb HD (4200 i think)
    dvd-rw drive
    14" widescreen display
    built in wireless and bluetooth
    windows xp pro

second laptop is my older one. it's an Alienware area-51m. they don't sell this model anymore. it's over 1.5 years old. my plans were to sell it when i bought the HP, but i had problems when i made the mistake to sell online. i was lucky to get it back. it has a small crack from shipping, so i'm told. here are the specs:

P4 - 3.06 ghz
    512 mb of ram (did have 1 gb, but i switched with the HP)
    40 gb HD - 5400
    cdrw/dvd combo
    ATI mobility 9000 128 mb (i like this card)
    15.4" lcd screen
    no wireless
    windows xp pro
    i basically use this for just a jukebox and stuff. i really don't use it much. but i can't really sell it.

My desktop was made for me at a local computer shop. i've upgraded since though. it's over 1.5 years old. i use it for video editing and making dvds mainly. here are the specs:

p4 - 2.4 ghz
    1 gb of ram
    160 gb HD - 7200
    80 gb HD - 7200
    dvd-rw DL - 16x
    cd-rw/dvd combo
    ATI all-in-wonder 9800 pro 128 mb
    windows xp pro

i'm kinda interested in the mac mini or the powerbook. i would have to have the superdrive if i got one. i've basically never used a mac before. tell me what you think