Giving advice to others

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by vwguy60, May 25, 2006.

1. vwguy60 macrumors newbie

Hi everyone, I am new to this whole Mac world and I have a question in regard to offering computer illiterate people advice. I am unfortunately well versed in the Windows environment because I have been building computers for years and troubleshooting other friend's and family computers.

My question is, if you knew someone who was not good with troubleshooting virus and spyware problems, would you give them the advice to get a Mac if they were fairly familiar with using Windows?

I only got my first Mac about a month ago and have been trying to learning everything I could. It is a great computer (MBP) and my previous Mac experience only is setting up airport on an old G3 iBook. The example I use is the ibook never failed in the 4 years my fiance had it.

My MBP was my first real step to a Mac and yes, to ease my transition, i installed XP with bootcamp. I now only use XP for SolidWorks now and find myself wanting to replace all the other home computers with Macs.

Sorry of this is a dumb question!

2. taytho macrumors 6502

I really think that the reliability alone and the ease of use.... as in you cant mess things up, makes a MAC a great choice for a mostly computer illiterate person..... it will take a bit of time to work with them... and maybe a few phone calls for support but things will be alllllll good after that i bet. i did this with my mother and ex girlfriend and it worked very well

3. gekko513 macrumors 603

gekko513

My mother is having a much easier time getting on the internet and checking e-mail with her new Mac than her old PC. That says it all really.

4. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

GimmeSlack12

I usually tell people with a computer problem:

"You know how to fix that? Get a Mac."