Goin off to college .. what to bring ?!

Discussion in 'Community' started by thevessels, Dec 19, 2004.

1. thevessels macrumors regular

Apr 6, 2004
    well im goin off from winnipeg canada to dallas texas for school.. i graduated from high school this year - took the fall off - and am now jumpin back in
    im gonna be living in a dorm - first time obv - and am wonder what are some neccesaties to drom / college life ?
    i am an apple-oholic and am wondering what kinda little toys i should bring wiht my powerbook . . should i sell my APextreme and get the express?
    idk - just ANY general words of advice would be nice haha - its christmas time so im in the mood to buy ****
    thanks guys !
  2. jamdr macrumors 6502a

Jul 20, 2003
    Bay Area
    I have to travel 3000 miles to get from home to my university, so let me tell you that you don't need as much as you think you do. Basically the most important thing to bring is clothes; you need stuff for every occasion that might come up. You may want to get a mouse for your PowerBook since it will likely be at a desk most of the time. Also, definitely get a good pair of speakers for your latop! You will need them, believe me. I don't think you really need airport express (or even a base station at all), but I guess it could be kinda useful.
  3. MattG macrumors 68040

May 27, 2003
    Fletcher, NC
    Get a USB thumbdrive (aka JumpDrive, etc.). They're indispensible when you need to be able to transfer/share data between personal and school computers.
  4. Trowaman macrumors 6502a

Nov 3, 2003
    CD: TX-14
    Which school in Dallas? If it's UNT I'll kinda let you know what to bring and send you info on our Apple club there.
  5. Koodauw macrumors 68040

Nov 17, 2003
    A squirt gun is a must for dorm life. Trust me.

and selling your APExtreme and buying a APexpress is a good idea. You can play music through it. a nice touch. You porb wont need the extra capicity of APExtreme anyways.