Going from Powerbook to new iMac, need help transferring files

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Advance The Man, Mar 21, 2009.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    493
    #1
    Old setup...
    17" Powerbook, registered my iTunes on here, all media is on 2 TB external hard drive, all photos reside on Powerbook hard drive.

    That's all I really care about transferring.

    I got the iMac today and it walked me through a system where I hooked up a firewire between the two, but felt like I wasn't doing it right, so stopped. My fear is my iTunes will implode or something. I have two AppleTv's and two iPhones, so I can't afford to screw this up.

    Want the iMac to control the iTunes, but still want all media on the external hard drive. I want the iMac hard drive to have all of the photos for iPhoto.

    Can someone give me a 101, layman's way to do this?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    6,055
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    You were doing it right. Format the iMac using its restore disks and go through the install process again, and let it run this time.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    493
    #3
    That sounds like I'm wiping out all software that was preloaded - obviously, it must not. How do you do it?
     
  4. macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    6,055
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #4
    When you do a fresh install, it installs all of the preloaded software as well unless you specifically tell it not to. I don't use most of that stuff anyway, so I deselect it to save hard drive space.

    I don't use my computer in Russian either, so I can get rid of a few language localizations.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    USA
  6. macrumors 65816

    Benguitar

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,252
    #6
    You should be able to just plug in the external HD and go to Migration Assistant and that should walk you through the transferring process. :);)
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page