Going from Tiger BACK To Panther, but screwed it up!!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by FF_productions, Nov 28, 2005.

  1. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #1
    I have an iMac G5 (look at sig for more details)

    Ok, I decided to switch back to panther because it isn't as much of a hog as tiger and I wanted to see how my iMac would run Panther.

    I completely erased the hard drive, and have (this was from the original seller, but the panther disks are mine): I have Jaguar 10.2 discs, a Tiger UPGRADE DVD, and OSX Panther.

    I stick the Panther disk in, hold the C button, but then it freezes on the apple symbol, the fans kick up, and nothing happens.

    I stick the Jaguar disk in, hold the C button, it just gives me a sign pretty much telling me their is no OS.

    I put in the Tiger DVD, and ran disk startup, and had an external dvd drive with panther in it, so I tell the Mac to restart under the Panther disk: It freezes just as I mentioned before, no difference. I put all my files on a dvd before I erased it, but now I can't get any OS to run on this iMac!!

    Please help!!
     
  2. lordj4000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    In unfathomable darkness
    #2
    here's the deal, your disks are probably 10.3.0 or so, the minimum supported os the imac will boot is probably 10.3.7 or something. If you have another mac that is old enough, you can boot off of it from the imac's hdd and install and upgrade that way.

    sorry.
     
  3. Les Kern macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #3
    Your say, just to be clear, that it will not boot under any original install disk at all, even the Tiger DVD? (Let's forget Panther for a second)
     
  4. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #4
    Yep. 10.3.5 is needed for a first generation iSlab. Magic Apple chart
    The Tiger DVDs that ship with some Macs will only install over an existing OS.
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5
    Dittoing Lordj.... and please make sure you do it on a wired keyboard...not so sure you can do this from a BT one. :(
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    I just tried booting 10.3.5 on my iMac, and it sat there loading for a minute or so, then suddenly the fans went to full speed and it appeared to crash (although the little "spinner" kept going). I tried again in verbose mode, but it got even less far, it said "FireWire GUID = some numbers" then the fans went to full speed again.

    So, I don't think it's your machine. Hopefully someone has a solution, as I'm also getting frustrated with Tiger and am considering going back to Panther.
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    Dumb question...so these are both iMacs that shipped before Tiger, right, but neither of you has Panther system restore disks for them? :(

    Or Nermal, are you saying that your iMac won't boot off it's own restore disk? :eek:
     
  8. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #8
    It boots from the Tiger DVD that came with it, but it won't boot from my retail 10.3.5 CD.
     
  9. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #9
    For that case, I might try installing Panther from another machine using FW target disk mode and updating to 10.3.9 (of course, the catch is that another compatible Mac has to be handy).
     
  10. Les Kern macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #10
    So USE TIGER. It's better by not only one generation, but several. What you want to do is like buying a $4,000 stereo and then trying to get an after-market 8-track to hook to it.
    Sheesh! :)
     
  11. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #11
    Since we're talking in caps, READ THE THREAD. The guy needs to install Panther before his Tiger upgrade will work.
     
  12. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #12
    A Mac will most likely not boot on an OS version that was released prior to the hardware manufacture. If it shipped with Tiger pre-installed, don't bother trying to put Panther on there. Just like how no aluminum 15" PB will boot from anything earlier than 10.2.7, and then it would have to be the PB-specific version, not the G5-specific version.
     
  13. Jschultz macrumors 6502a

    Jschultz

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #13
    Seriously? That's crazy!

    I guess I'll go off an run my copy of Puma beeeyotches! :::types away on his 400 mhz TiBook::::
     
  14. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #14
    You have a valid point, although you expressed it in a profoundly stupid way. I can buy a brand new PC and run Windows 95 on it. The graphics might be stuck in 16 colours, and there might not be any sound support, but it'll run. OS X, on the other hand, seems to just crash :(
     
  15. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #15
    One of your OS CD's needs to be bootable so you can reformat the drive
    and then run a clean install.

    The problem is that each one of your versions was meant to build
    from a previous version. So essentially all three are upgrade CD's

    Usually when you erase the drive, you also reformat it at the same time
    getting it ready for the clean install.

    If the cobwebs in my brain will clear for a moment, I think Jaguar 10.2
    needed to build off of OS 9.1.2 Panther in turn needed to see 10.2 or better and Your Tiger DVD, like mine was the drop in box update to bring Panther up to Tiger.

    When I added my second HD, I had to format the blank drive with the
    Panther CD then ran a lean custom install of Panther.
    Then I could boot from the Tiger DVD and also ran a lean custom install.

    I've been helping several iBook buyers with running a lean install of Tiger
    and it's freeing up about 5 GB of HD space when you deselect all
    the extra printer drivers, languages, software demos, iDVD themes, GarageBand songs and so on.

    The only reason I would backtrack to Panther would be if I had purchased
    some high end Pro applications that worked well in Panther, but require
    expensive upgrades to run in Tiger.

    Otherwise, your probably better off just cutting Tiger down a bit
    before you install it.
     
  16. Will Cheyney macrumors 6502a

    Will Cheyney

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #16
    All of this trouble, and for what?
    You iMac G5 can easily handle Tiger... you shouldn't be struggling to run it!
     
  17. Macky-Mac macrumors 68030

    Macky-Mac

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #17
    is yours a Rev B iMac? if so there's probably something in 10.4 that it needs.......it shipped with OS 10.4 and as others have said, Macs often wont boot from an earlier version of the OS than the one that shipped with the machine
     
  18. FF_productions thread starter macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #18
    Hey guys thanks for the advice...
    I have a rev a iMac (from august 2004)
    Heres a question: My friend has a iBook, can I connect my firewire cord to his iBook and boot off the iBook? His iBook is running 10.3.9, so I figure it would work??

    Help Me, I can't boot up the computer at all!!!

    And yes the reason I am going to Panther is for FCP 4 and Soundtrack.
     
  19. Laser47 macrumors 6502a

    Laser47

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #19
    I think they mean that you should put the imac in firewire taget disk mode and then boot the install cd on the ibook, then just select your macs hd on the list and install it.
     
  20. FF_productions thread starter macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #20
    The Tiger DVD is just an Upgrade Disc, it boots up but I have to have 10.3 or later installed on it...I guess I'll have to hook this iMac up to my friends iBook.
     
  21. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
  22. Will Cheyney macrumors 6502a

    Will Cheyney

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #22
    And there I was planning to install OS 9 on my G5... Damn ;)
     

Share This Page