going to Mexico, will iphone work there?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Yagyu Jubei, Mar 8, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #1
    hello all!

    I will be going to mexico...Durango, Durango in the summer
    will edge work there? or wi fi?


    migs
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    billyripkin

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    Yes, I was in Mexico last fall and I had service almost the entire time. I did turn off EDGE because the internet charges can rack up but as far as making calls it works and you will be charged for the out of country fee.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Wifi will work anywhere a wireless access point is present. Not sure about edge though.
     
  4. McGiord, Mar 8, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

    macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #4
    Yes it will work.
    Last 4 month I was traveling every week there to Mexico City and Toluca.
    There are 2 GSM carriers that have agreements with AT&T:
    Movistar and Telcel.
    I found Telcel to have better coverage.
    The roaming charges are 1$/min, if you buy the Mexican package for $5/month you lower the rate to 0.6$/min, so it makes sense that you activate that service for just 1 month and the get rid of it when you come back.
    The data roaming will be very expensive, but it works if you need it.
    Use the turn off data roaming setting in your iPhone to disable it.
    Where are you going?
    ________
    vapor genie review
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #5

    i am goin to Durango, Durango


    thanks for the replies!
     

Share This Page