Going to sleep while computer is working?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by whaleboy, Feb 23, 2007.

1. whaleboy macrumors member

I'm new to Macs, so maybe I should've known this, but I was burning a disc today on my MBP (plugged in), and the computer went to sleep in the middle of it. The prefs say it will go to sleep when inactive. Sorry, but if the machine is chugging away on a task, it is NOT inactive. I understand the screen going to sleep, which is fine, but why would the machine go to sleep while it was busy, preventing it from finishing its task? Does Apple only consider "active" to be user key/trackpad/mouse input?

:mad:

-David

2. andysc macrumors regular

andysc

I have the similar issue when downloading things like torrents; the downloads will be going but if I leave the computer (not touching the keyboard or mouse) it will go to sleep, thus shutting down the internet connection/download.

3. whaleboy thread starter macrumors member

Well I've just set it to never sleep if plugged in. I'd rather it just went to sleep when the computer wasn't doing anything.

-David

4. Yukinara macrumors member

the solution is easy,if you want to leave it work all the time,just go to System Preference-->Energy Saver-----choose Power Adapter---->set "Put the computer to sleep......." to Never
    then,when your comp is inactive,it only turn off the screen,leave the apps working. I leave my MacBook on 24/7,so it's helpful what way ;)

5. mgguy macrumors 6502

mgguy

Is the computer considered to be in sleep mode when the screensaver comes on? I download large files via dial-up at night on my G3 Imac and after an hour the screensaver will come on, but the download continues. When I get up in the morning, the download is complete (after running several hours). I have set the preferences to put in sleep mode after one hour of inactivity, but it still runs the download until it is done.

6. daneoni macrumors G4

daneoni