Good deals on 15-inch PB?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Maverick, Mar 6, 2004.

1. Maverick macrumors member

Hi everyone,

I'm jumping ship from Windows and will be switching to Mac in the next few weeks (right after I sell this piece of Windows garbage). I'm really excited about the move, but my current laptop has me pretty spoiled. So I'm looking for something to replace it.

I decided on the 15-inch Powerbook, mainly for the Superdrive and the widescreen (both of which my current Windows laptop has). Problem is, I'm a college student and I don't have much cash to blow. :( I probably won't get anymore than $1000 for the laptop I have now, and while I'm certainly not expecting to find a 15-inch Powerbook anywhere for that cheap, I would like to know: Where's the cheapest place to buy a Mac?

I'm not talking mail-in rebates (because you actually have to make the purchase first). I just want to know the absolute lowest price I can grab one of these things for. If anyone knows where I can find a great deal on one, please hook me up. I'd be most grateful.

Thanks a bunch! Looking forward to joining the Mac community very soon! :)

2. titaniumducky macrumors 6502a

titaniumducky

If you're college has it's own Campus Apple Store thing (it will tell you when you choose your college in the Education store) they can have really good prices.

If not, you're best bet is either refurb (special deals section of Apple Store) or Educational Discount.

3. klyau6 macrumors member

just wondering...if your campus actually DOES have a campus apple store, do you have an idea of what the price difference is between going through them or buying w/ Apple Education discount? I ask this because UMD has its own campus apple store, but I don't even know how much they charge, etc etc. Thanks!

4. nuclearwinter macrumors regular

nuclearwinter

no ebay please...