good hard disk cloning app?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by zen.state, Jul 26, 2005.

  1. zen.state macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #1
    I need to clone the contents of a 120gb (with 45gb free) onto an 80gb. found carbon copy cloner and mim mac on macupdate.com. either of these ok or is there a better one?

    never cloned a drive before..

    thanks in advance :)
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Go with either Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper!.
     
  3. andiwm2003 macrumors 601

    andiwm2003

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    superduper works with tiger. the basic features are free and you can do all you need with the basic features. i still paid for it. it's that good.

    andi
     
  4. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #4
    NetRestore - if you are trying to make a bootable copy. - IF UNDER TIGER YOU MUST DO THIS TO OPEN IT:
    1)Open Terminal
    2)Change directories to where NetRestore is located
    3)type in: sudo open ./NetRestore.app
    4)Clone from HD1 to HD2
     
  5. pdpfilms macrumors 68020

    pdpfilms

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Location:
    Vermontana
    #5
    Will superduper! or cabon copy cloner make a bootable clone?
     
  6. zen.state thread starter macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #6
    thanks. superduper seems to be liked a lot. will it make a bootable clone?
     
  7. Whyren macrumors 6502a

    Whyren

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Location:
    east of the West and west of the East
    #7
    Carbon Copy Cloner cloned the system I'm running on now. 2 months and no noticeable difference. Of course, I cloned from 10.2.8 (and a new system installation after massive directory problems), not Tiger.
     
  8. zen.state thread starter macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #8
    btw.. the 120 has tiger on it and the 80 is blank.
     
  9. idea_hamster macrumors 65816

    idea_hamster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    NYC, or thereabouts
    #9
    If the original disc is bootable, then the clone should be as well. While I have used CCC in the (distant) past for a back-up that I needed to boot from (and it did, in fact, boot), I haven't used SD for this. However, I would be shocked -- shocked, I say! -- if I a SD clone couldn't boot.

    The only thing that I would say is to be certain that you clone your disk to entire disc or partition, rather than to a disc image. I'm not sure that a disc image is bootable -- although someone else may correct me....
     
  10. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #10
    The only way at my school we could get Tiger to clone onto other hard drives, was by using NetRestore so thats how I know it works better than CCC. CCC on Panther will make a cloned hard drive that will boot, but on Tiger NetRestore does it for sure. No guessing on what files you do and don't have.
     
  11. pna macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    #11
    You can always use the built in 'disk utility' as well. I don't think it allows you to make an image or clone while you're booted into the partition you want to clone, but you can easily boot off of the install dvd, run disk utility, and do a 'restore' of the hard drive you want to clone to the new hard drive. The resulting clone is bootable, and works fine. Going from a larger hard drive to a smaller should be fine, provided everything on the larger hard drive doesn't have more stuff on it than will fit on the smaller one.
     
  12. the future macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #12
    Actually, you can clone the volume/partition you're booted into.
     
  13. andiwm2003 macrumors 601

    andiwm2003

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #13
    i have made bootable clones of system 10.3.9 and 10.4.2 with superduper! so the answer is yes. :)

    andi
     
  14. pubwvj macrumors 68000

    pubwvj

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Location:
    Mountains of Vermont
    #14
    I use and love Carbon Copy Cloner. Unfortunately under Tiger it is not acting well. But the developer is aware of the problem and is fixing it. Soon...
     
  15. RacerX macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #15
    So did Mike* say if he was going to fix Carbon Copy Cloner or Mac OS X? ;)

    The cloning function in Disk Utility (added in Mac OS X v10.3) works quite nicely. I've used it on a couple clients systems.






    * Mike Bombich is a systems engineer at Apple these days. Oddly enough, his employment started just before Apple added the cloning ability to Disk Utility.
     
  16. cardiac dave macrumors regular

    cardiac dave

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Location:
    iToronto
    #16
    I vote for this too. It works.
     
  17. Black&Tan macrumors 6502a

    Black&Tan

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    #17
    An other vote for SuperDuper. I used the program under demo mode and was able to clone my G5 hard drive (about 120 gigs) in under 30 minutes. If you register the copy, you can do incremental copies, which will only copy over new or changed files. Also, included as extras, is a scheduled backup application. Haven't tried it yet, but so far, have been very impressed.
     
  18. macdad2 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    I'm not sure anymore
    #18
    another vote for SuperDuper! I performed a smart clone last night - 45 gigs backed up in 8 minutes. Of course, the basic version (un-registered) worked really well too - but it re-clones your entire hard drive each time you backup. Smart backup was well worth the registration fee to me ($19.95 us). And the interface is really great.
     
  19. pna macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    #19

    Hmm -- you're right, I hadn't realized this. I think I had tried to make a disk image from the disk I was running from, and got the 'the source disk is busy' error. This happened even when I was storing the created image on an external drive. I assumed this would be the case if I were to want to do a restore/clone to that external disk as well, but you're right, it works fine.

    Anyone know a way to make a disk image of a mounted volume?
     
  20. pna macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    #20
    Ahh, I spoke too quickly. The restore bombed out with a 'file does not exist' error on me. I hadn't deleted anything whilst it was copying, so I don't know what it had a problem with.

    Looks like it's back to cloning after booting off of the dvd for me. Too bad.
     
  21. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #21
    NetRestore.app
    Run it as root via from Terminal, you can make a fully bootable copy of your system on another (external or internal) hard disk.
     
  22. pna macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    #22
    And this will work even if I'm booted off of the system drive I'm attempting to clone? What does it do differently than the disk utility 'create image from disk' feature?

    thanks for the tip!
     
  23. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #23
    1. Yes, it will work a lot better than Disk Utility
    2. Disk Utility just doesn't copy everything like it should. I tried to do a backup on Tiger at my school using it, not one of the computers (after I reimaged it) would boot up using it. I finally had to use NetRestore, and I don't know what it does differently, maybe copy byte for byte or something, but it does it and it works. I checked my hard drive sizes after the disk utility trial to see how much space I could compare too, I was missing 1GB of files, On NetRestore, I was missing like a few MB or KB's, which is understandable considering log files and fragmentation. NetRestore just works.
     
  24. ham_man macrumors 68020

    ham_man

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    #24
    Another vote here for SuperDuper! I just purchased this app, and I must say that it was worth it. The custom scripts, the nice GUI, the speed - everything was up to par. Plus, I love to support small time developers like this, cause I wouldn't mind being one someday. I just wonder what features version 2.0 wilt bring...
     
  25. pna macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    #25
    Ok -- I'll check it out. I had no problems booting off of an image I created with disk utility, provided I created the image while booted off of the install dvd, which I assume is what you were doing as well, no? Strange that it would be so entirely broken for you. Now I'm glad it threw an error instead of just giving me an incomplete copy.
     

Share This Page