Good HDD Replacement?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by markrox7, Jul 20, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    #1
    Is the Crucial m4 SSD a good replacement for my Macbook Pro (2010) HDD?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    #2
    Yes it is. I'm using one here too, and have nothing but good things to say about it.
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #3
    thats a great drive, but slower than a Corsair Force GT, which I use and love.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    #4
    Yes! and the Samsung 830 it's a good choice too.
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    SlCKB0Y

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #5
    Yes. Just get it already..
    :D
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    #6
    Yup! I ordered it from Amazon and it's supposed to arrive on Tuesday! Just in time for Mountain Lion's (probable) release Wednesday! So excited. The replacement doesn't look hard, I'm just wondering how everything will look when I boot up my Mac to a blank SSD and how I'll have to format it and install Mountain Lion, etc. Seems like a lot to do but I'm excited to do it. Any tips or how-tos would be helpful!
     
  7. ugp
    macrumors 65816

    ugp

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    Inverness, Florida
    #7
    Awesome drive. I can't say anything bad about mine.
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    SlCKB0Y

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #8
    You'll make your life WAY easier if you get an external enclosure for your existing drive.

    That way you install the SSD, put the stock HDD in an enclosure. You'll be able to boot from this and then use the App Store ML app to clean install to the internal SSD.

    Doing it this way means that you:
    1. Have an easily booted backup in case something goes wrong.
    2. You will be putting your previous hard drive to use as an external drive.
    3. You don't need to mess about with DVDs or USB sticks.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    Sylon

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan/Ohio, USA
    #9

    Could you do the same thing if you already have an external HDD you use as a Time Machine backup?


    Not saying I would just ditch the old drive, I'm just saying it could skip a couple steps that I'm already doing.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    #10
    You need a Sandforce SSD with a Mac because the OS X won't support Trim on non-Apple SSDs. From my experience Trim Enabler is bad news as well. I had to replace a SSD once after using Trim Enabler. I only buy OCZ and they work well on my MBP and MMs. I am sure others have competing views so do your research.

    IP

    Edit: By Sandforce I mean an OCZ, OWC etc SSD. Even the new MBA Retina has SandForce now.
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    #11
    The kingston hyperx 3k is sandforce too, which i'm using and very happy with.
     
  12. macrumors member

    jlrathke

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #12
    I have an early 2011 13" MBP I'm thinking of upgrading with a SSD...is it a straight swap, or is there adapters I need as well.

    Thanks,

    Jerry
     

Share This Page