Good Mic for Audio Recording?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by JOD8FY, May 7, 2005.

1. JOD8FY macrumors 6502a

Mar 22, 2004
    United States
    Hello Everyone,

I've been playing the piano for the past 10 years now and have recently decided to start recording some of my work so I can share it with family and friends. So far, I've been using Garageband and the internal microphone on my PB to do this, but the quality of the recording isn't that great. I was wondering if anyone could recommend a good quality external microphone that I can use with my PB.

2. asif786 macrumors 65816

Jun 17, 2004
    London, UK.
    to be honest, the line in ports on the pb arent erribly powerful- it may even be of a lower volume than the internal mic.

if it's a new piano/keyboard, it may have a line out or a midi interface, which you can import into GB and make it sound different etc. of course, using things like that will cost you more.

basically, i'm just trying to say that using an external mic plugged straight into your pb wont sont particularly good.
  3. sammyman macrumors 6502a

Mar 21, 2005
    Try getting an Mbox, or some other USB powered 1/4" input device. Then buy a SURE SM58 if you want decent sound for a decent price.
  4. WinterMute Moderator emeritus

Jan 19, 2003
    London, England
    M-box is a good call, but too expensive for GB and the mic-amps are underpowered by the USB, look at the M-audio FW410 or on of their other pre-amps.

The SM58 is a good close mic on high level instruments, but it has neither the sensitivity nor the frequency response to cope with an acoustic piano.

Check out the Rode range, the NT2 particularly, SE do some very good mics and Samson have recently come in with some good cheap mics too.

AKG do some classic mics, the C414 is a doozy, but expensive, their C3000 is worth a look.

If you can find them, Oktava do some good mics, the MK219 for instance.