Good project management software

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by gonnabuyamac, Aug 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. macrumors 6502

I'm a graphic designer with a wide variety of projects in web and print. What are some good project management programs that would work for what I do?

I'm finding it hard to keep tabs on all of my projects. :rolleyes:

2. macrumors 6502a

I use FreshBooks.com. Also, a lot of the big guys use Basecamp from 37 Signals, but that might be more team project oriented.

3. Guest

shecky

i have found that simple = better. a lot of project management software sounds great in terms of features., but a lot of it is bells and whistles and really all you need is a task list and a spreadsheet.

i use Excel and TextEdit.app to keep track of everything in our studio. one day i might go up to a databse like FileMaker but for now it is unnecessary. Finances are all in Quickbooks Pro, but we use Excel spreadsheets for tracking who owes us what, etc..

4. macrumors G4

What you need is just a task list or a "do to" manager. Project Managers are typically oriented to projects with 50 or 100 people working on 10,000 interrelated tasks. they do things like critical path analysis, resource leveling and so on.

5. macrumors 68040

Phil A.

Personally, I'm a big fan of OmniPlan, but it may be overkill for what you want

6. macrumors regular

If you are looking for something simple, than "Things" is a good task manager that can break lists into projects. It's a nice interface too if that's important to you (and has an iPhone app for it too):

http://www.culturedcode.com/things/

It all just depends on the level of detail you need. If you want something a lot more robust than maybe try Studiometry:

http://www.oranged.net/studiometry/

Currently I just use a very simple task list program that I'm quite fond of. Not many features but a clean and simple interface and easy to use. It's called Anxiety: