Google Hacked?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by dejo, Aug 25, 2005.

  1. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #1

    Attached Files:

  2. Macmaniac macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #2
    I wonder how'd that happen, hmm someone must have too much spare time. What on earth is SOGO?
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    It doesn't do it for me at the moment. Fixed already? I have never heard of "sogo." There doesn't seem to be a sogo.com... Strange strange strange.
     
  4. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
  5. dubbz macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #5
  6. dejo thread starter Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #6
    Comcast DNS? Wouldn't surprise me...
     
  7. dubbz macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #7
    Heh :)

    This has happened before too. Not much Google can do about it, except having everyone learn the IP address :)
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    Well, they certainly have top notch search capabilities! :eek: :D I was going to say that I can't see them being allowed to keep this DN for long, but given the power of their engine, they should be able to drive Google out of business before any legal action against them could be settled! :) Typing in "google" as the search term didn't hit a google site until #10, and even that one was a strange one (toolbars.google.com)....

    Hehehe...entering Microsoft as the search term also didn't reveal a hit within the Microsoft.com namespace until the eighth hit. Yep, solid gold. Hah... even typing in "search engine" brought up incomprehensible results. :)
     
  9. greatdevourer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    #9
    Apparently (according to Valarian) it's a cookie issue (redirects you), so just reset Safari and it should clear up
     
  10. ham_man macrumors 68020

    ham_man

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    #10
    Didn't that happen when Google went down a few months back?
     
  11. floyde macrumors 6502a

    floyde

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Monterrey, México
    #11
    They attempt to explain the DNS issue in their FAQ.

    I can't for the life of me understand the purpose/reason of this website. They even have job opportunities :eek:
     
  12. Flowbee macrumors 68030

    Flowbee

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Alameda, CA
    #12
  13. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #13
    Just as a side note (sorry if it's a little off topic), does anyone know how to force my browser to go to Google.com as opposed to always being redirected to Google.com.au? Or does it not matter because Google.com.au is just a front for the original Google.com and they search exactly the same places?

    I was just wondering since I imagine the Aussie site has a slight Aussie bias and sometimes I'd like to do a search from the perspective of a different country. :)
     
  14. floyde macrumors 6502a

    floyde

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Monterrey, México
    #14
    On the Mexican Google there is a link on the lower right of the page that says "Google.com in English". That takes me to Google Google :D . I think the searches are the same though, I'm just too lazy to verify this with the proper experiments.

    I think you can also use this URL: http://www.google.com/ncr
     
  15. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #15

    Oh. :eek:

    Why didn't I see the link to the proper Google.com? Oh well, that kind of implies that they are in fact different then.

    Tested: yes, they come up with different results. :)
     
  16. dejo thread starter Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #16
    That didn't work.
     
  17. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #17
    Google does geographic matching on your machine/router's IP address and redirects you. I just noticed yesterday that Google is returning me a heavy weighting of Canadian sites when I do a general knowledge search -- this seems to be a change over previous.
     

Share This Page