Google redirect

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by harveypooka, Dec 13, 2004.

  1. harveypooka macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    #1
    I always use google.com, but today I noticed that google.com redirects me
    to my country's google, google.co.uk. Weird.
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
  3. TBR macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    Blackpool - England
    #3
    correct

    Thats handy.

    Also there's a UK Froogle? Is that new?

    nice one anyway!
     
  4. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #4
    Main differences: No froogle link on homepage, option to search UK only pages. Anything I'm missing?

    Oddly, I don't get redirected to Google.com when I search google.co.uk.
     
  5. Rocksaurus macrumors 6502a

    Rocksaurus

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #5
    HA! Google's been doing that to me for years. I type in "google.com" and it forwards me to the US site. :cool:
     
  6. russed macrumors 68000

    russed

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Location:
    London, England
    #6
    wow how random, yet when i still use the searchy thingy in camino it still takes me to the .com site!
     
  7. iJoe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #7
    It's been going for perhaps a couple of months. This is the first time it's had a link from the homepage, though.
     
  8. Lz0 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Location:
    Melbourne
    #8
    Google has been doing that to AU users for a long tome now.

    The "i" and the "o" are to close tigether on my keyboard.
     
  9. AmigoMac macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne
    #9
    it was doing the same for me with google.com to google.de and the same with the news site but I deleted the cookies and everything came as before, Safari & Camino work with google.com but Firefox with google.de and the results are different... and now there is something really odd, my friend at work and I were looking the same thing on google, I was with my iBook and Safari, he has a PC and Firefox, same search but different results, the first page I got was his 6th , we deleted cookies but was still different... :eek: , he said loud to me: "Möchtest du mich verarschen oder was?" :mad:
     
  10. _pb_boi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    #10
    Meh,

    Google has done that to me for ages. I get redirected to Irish Google, German Google and / or Swedish Google.

    For about a year, maybe more, now.

    andy.
     

Share This Page