Google, Yahoo, Alta Vista, others under attack?

Discussion in 'MacBytes.com News Discussion' started by MacBytes, Jul 26, 2004.

  1. macrumors bot

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    #1
  2. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Location:
    54140
    #2
    I've noticed the outages, however, they seem to fluctuate. My brother located in California couldn't get anything, whereas here in Wisconsin, Google worked flawlessly. There were also outages in MN during the same time as CA. For me, Google was only "down" for about 5 minutes.

    Thanks mydoom :rolleyes:
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Photorun

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    If they used Macs as their backbones and main machines none of this would happen. Because they use peecees I have to give it a (composes himself)

    [Nelson] Hahh Hahhhh!!! [/Nelson]
     
  4. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #4
    Isn't it a denial-of-service attack? If so, doesn't much matter what they're running. The attack's coming from the outside.
     
  5. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #5
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    #6
    It's funny you mentioned Altavista, I remember years ago when I mainly made my web-searches on it along with Yahoo!. I wonder what brought them down...

    I haven't used their services lately, they just don't have anything special to offer.
     
  7. macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #7
    I've had Google fail totally on and off lately. Seems like the vandals out there aren't just attacking MS... now they are intentionally targeting MS's competitors.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    #8
    Nah that new mydoom does not really attack those search engines.
    It just uses them to search for e-mail addresses it can send itself to. ;)
     
  9. macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #9
    HotBot is working fine :) Once upon a time it was my main engine. (Google's fast-loading home page won me over... and not it's in Safari.)
     

Share This Page