Got another problem...

Discussion in 'iMac' started by maxmac, Jan 6, 2007.

  1. maxmac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    #1
    My old iMac G3 has got some problems...

    Well to start with it froze when I clicked certain apps or did certain things from menus etc.

    Last week I was on iTunes, and a pop-up came up saying "The disk 'My Hardisk' appears to be damaged. Use a disk repair utility to repair the disk". I had Norton Utilities but it was too late, because My Hardisk became inaccessable. On my next boot it had a white screen for half a second then a grey screen with a purple folder with a question mark inside it, with the question mark turning into a mac os logo and back again. I booted from Norton Utilities disc and ran all the tools I could, but still no boot even though the hadisk appears to be fine. I dont have the original disks that came with it i'm afraid.

    it is a:

    iMac G3 330 mHZ slot loading
    192 MB RAM
    Mac OS 9.2.2
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    Wow... I didn't even know there was an iTunes for OS9! :eek: Although, apparently there is. Sounds like you've been using that computer for a good long time! But I don't have any OS9 knowledge, so I have nothing else to contribute. :(
     
  3. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Sounds like the HD may be going, that computer is pretty old now...
     
  4. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #4
    Oh dear. With the best case scenario, you need to "bless" the System folder to make it bootable again, which would normally be done by booting from the OS9 disk. However, if you have a bootable Norton disk you may be able to get away with it.

    Page 16 of this PDF has the necessary steps.

    If that doesn't work, you need to get hold of an original disk and re-install OS9. Back up your data as soon as you can though. That HD looks like it's on the way out.
     
  5. maxmac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    #5
    Luckily I put my docs on a disk 3 weeks before this...could I get an older X disc and install or do I need a new HD

    BTW thanks for everyones help :)
     
  6. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #6
    If you've already got your data backed up, I would cut your losses on that HD and get a newer one, then install Panther with Classic. You won't need a huge HD, and try and get a 5400rpm one to keep the heat down. You may also want to up the RAM above 256MB.

    If all that seems like a chore, you could probably get a second-hand 600MHz iMac for a reasonable amount of money on eBay, which will give you a far more stable 1024x768 screen mode and FireWire ports over what you have now.
     
  7. Tarkovsky macrumors 6502

    Tarkovsky

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    London/Norwich
    #7
    I say upgrade all the way. If its a perfectly workable system and suits you fine I say PIMP IT. Yeah the hard drive, yeah the ram, the UVs and fat sub woofer.
     
  8. maxmac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    #8
    well im getting a new mac soon anyway...It does have 1024x768 and firewire and all that but ive wanted garage band and iLife and stuff for ages so I guess i'll just upgrade as soon as possible (prefarably when lepoard comes out)

    (os 9 was old anyway lol)
     
  9. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #9
    Oh sorry, I missed the "slot loading" bit in your description. Still, even if you're planning a new one, you could put a new HD in your existing Mac and flog it on eBay for £80 or so. :)
     
  10. maxmac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    #10
    I cant re-bless the suitcase because of a "Type 199 error"!

    There all the files I need from the system folder on the disc but it is locked so I cant do anything about it (damn)
     

Share This Page