1. Welcome to the new MacRumors forums. See our announcement and read our FAQ

got any tips for an OS X newbie?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by phreakout13, Jan 7, 2004.

1. macrumors 6502

phreakout13

Hi
    I'll have a new computer in a few days and I've never used OS X before. I would really appreciate it if anyone could give me some advice. Thank you.

2. macrumors 65816

kettle

Yeeeeeee!!

Thank yer lucky stars you're not having to use windoze fer the first time.

Search this site for any problems you find using OSX and I bet if it's not already dealt with, there will be many many happy Macrumors peeps waiting to make yer day.:)

3. macrumors 68000

hulugu

Questions, we've got answers

Do you have any specific questions, concerns?

What is your level of experience with regard to computers, ever used Windows or Mac OS before?

What do you want to do with your new machine?

4. macrumors 6502

phreakout13

I'm not bad with OS 9 or OS 7.6. I only want to use OS X for my home computer and with my 10g iPod

5. macrumors 68000

hulugu

Tips

Mail is a great program, especially if you go through the rules under Preferences, and set them up. The Junk filter should be set on training mode first, to make sure its not junking things you would like to see.
    Safari is a very good program, the tabs are very useful but they must be engaged using Preferences and you can set up pop-up blocker using Cntrl-K.
    The dock is very useful, you can use it to hold all the Applications you consistantly use, but you can store the Applications folder and your Home folder next to the trash when they can easily be accessed.
    System preferences is a single Application that runs all the Control Panels and allows you to control things like Network connections, Desktops pictures, etc.
    When you get to print, the Print Center Application will appear and will handle all your printing needs.