Got my iPhone 4 today...Unlimited data.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jesusplay, Jun 29, 2010.

  1. jesusplay
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    SOUTH
    #1
    I got an iphone 2g(silver/black back) last week and I called at&t and activated it on my line which was eligible for the iphone4 upgrade.

    today I go into the at&t store to upgrade...

    and now I have unlimited data on my iPhone 4!

    loop holes...gotta love'em!:rolleyes:
     
  2. SpaceKitty
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #2
    Nice!!

    Remember, that 2G iPhone will once again get you unlimited data if you ever switch to the 2GB plan and then decide you want to go back to unlimited. Just activate the 2G once again but choose that you are replacing your current iPhone with the 2G. The only data plan it will offer you is unlimited.
     
  3. army91c
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
  4. Amnesia87
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #4
    so in theory I could go and buy an iPhone 2g, switch from my iP4 to that phone, change plans and then switch back?
     
  5. SpaceKitty
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #5
    You can. You can even buy a new iPhone 4 which would only allow you to have a 2GB data plan. Get home, activate the 2G using your iPhone 4 number. When asked, you are replacing your current phone (the i4) with the 2G. It will give you unlimited data. Then go back to AT&T and have them give you a new Micro Sim and either call AT&T or have them do it in store, reactivate the iPhone 4 which will then give you unlimited data. Hope it makes sense. It involves some work but it works.
     
  6. Amnesia87
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #6
    How long do you have to wait in order to do this anyways?

    Like between switching plans and stuff I mean.
     
  7. SpaceKitty
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #7
    As long as you have the time, you could do it all in one day. AT&Ts computer doesn't limit that.
     
  8. Amnesia87
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #8
    but like wouldn't they be suspicious when you go in to get the microsim?

    is there no way to switch from regular sim to microsim yourself?
     
  9. SpaceKitty
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #9
    No you can't. This is why I would actually prefer to switch back to the iPhone 4 over the phone. They would just ask for the IMEI # and the long number on the micro sim.

    When you ask for a sim at the Apple store, just tell them it's for an iPad.
     
  10. ansabakhan
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #10
    i just got my iPhone 4 last week, i came to AT&T from Verizon , as it was a brand new line i got 2GB cap on my iPhone.

    if i switch my phone line to my sisters old iPhone 2G and switch is back to iPhone 4 will i get unlimited data on my phone ? can some one confirm ? that sound too good to be true thanks
     
  11. SpaceKitty
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #11
    It will work!

    You just activate the 2G in iTunes under using your iPhone 4 phone number. You select that you are replacing your current phone with this iPhone and you pick your unlimited data plan + SMS. That will get you unlimited data and then go to AT&T and get a new micro sim. Call AT&T and have them change your plan from the 2G to the 3G and you keep your unlimited data since it is grandfathered. :)
     
  12. ansabakhan
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #12
    ohh wow .. but initially i got 2GB cap plan , wont they ask me to go back on that plan?
     
  13. SpaceKitty
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #13
    No. Look at the OP in this thread. He activated his 2G last week. Today he upgrades to the iPhone 4 and keeps his data plan.

    This whole plan will work. Try it and see.
     
  14. ansabakhan
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #14
    great ill try! i dont think she has her sim , cause i know she took her sim card to her new phone ..can i buy a brand new sim and use it with 3G phone and transfer my phone number on that new sim with my sisters old iphone 2g ..sorry but i am new to this sim stuff.
     
  15. SpaceKitty
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #15
    You can get new sims for free at AT&T. Foe the 2G sim, just tell them you are activating an old iPhone and for the micro sim, you are going to activate an iPad but you lost the old sim.
     
  16. ansabakhan
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #16
    do i go to the store or can i order on phone ? dose the sim charge some thing?
     
  17. SpaceKitty
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #17
    They might send them through the mail if you call but I would just go to the store because you can get the whole thing done today or whenever you do it.
     
  18. ansabakhan
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #18
    i don't have a at&t cooperate store close to where i am
     
  19. SpaceKitty
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #19
    Then buy them on eBay.
     
  20. ansabakhan
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #20
    can i buy brand new sim on ebay ? and it will work on the iphone 2g ?
     
  21. SpaceKitty
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #21
    Yes, just search for a little bit. I bought 10 for $10 last fall.
     
  22. ansabakhan
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    ansabakhan

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    #22
    and at&t wont have a problem activating it ?
     
  23. SpaceKitty
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #23
    No. A sim card is a sim card. Just make sure they are AT&T sims.
     
  24. Amnesia87
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #24
    would I need to get a new microsim to replace the one I have in my iP4 atm?

    or just a new normal sim?
     
  25. SpaceKitty
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #25
    You need one of each sim.
     

Share This Page