Got Our dual 2.5GHz G5 W/ NVIDIA Card

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by MacBoy88, Oct 20, 2004.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    Illinois
    #1
    My School got our new G5 today. It is stocked with 4GB of ram, 2x250GB RAID, and the NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra DDL. I will post benchmarks from it tomorrow. It is super fast tho! BTW we are using it as a video editor.
     
  2. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #2
    Well, it might do OK as a video editor with those specs.... ;)

    Hopefully, it'll at least be taxed to do some elaborate video effects!
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #3
    I hear you'll be happy when 10.3.6 comes out in the next week or two. It will include updated 6800 drivers which, from what I read, are definitely needed to get the full potential out of the Mac 6800 Ultra. The current 10.3.5 drivers are lacking, especially on the 3D front (shaders and such).
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    Illinois
    #4
    I didn't know that! :confused: I thought it played UT 2004 like a champ. :D
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #5
    It seems to be hit or miss. Some Apps run well with the current driver, but some (Homeland?) are particularly slow. Anyway, it should be taken care of with 10.3.6, which should be out in a week or two. No worries.
     
  6. macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #6
    Your school only purchased one? :eek:
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    Illinois
    #7
    Here it is!

    Here is the score.......This is a 2.5GHz, SATA 300GB RAID 0, NVIDIA GeForce 6800 Ultra DDL, and 4GB of RAM.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. macrumors 65816

    invaLPsion

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Northlands
    #8
    Cet your CPU speed to "Highest" in sys prefs and you will get an extra 20-30 points...

    There is no reason to not have it at "Highest." :cool:
     
  9. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    Illinois
    #9
    Cool, i didn't know this. Will do on Monday.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Steven1621

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #10
    my college just got in 30 of the 2.5 G5's as well as the 30 of the new iMacs. it was a beautiful thing to see all the boxes.... :)
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    AliensAreFuzzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #11
    Holy crap! :eek:
    I wish my school were cool enough to get some macs, but we're stuck with some really old windows boxes. :(
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    #12
    why is the bus speed in the 2.5 up there at 1 ghz?

    Bus Frequency 1 GHz
     
  13. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    Illinois
    #13
    I see this now that you pointed it out. I will check it out on Monday. It should be 1.25GHz, right?
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    XIII

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #14
    Yeah, it should be.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    zwida

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2001
    Location:
    NYC
    #15
    I've got Cinebench scores for what seems like an identical machine, if it would be of interest.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #16
    XBench isn't always reporting things right..
    Look in system Profile and see whats listing there..

    I remember when i bought a G3/266 back in 1997, Norton Utils reported the machine as 604@537mhz.

    Iv'e seen some apps reporting my current powerbook (12" rev C) as Powerbook G3, also as Powerbook 1 GHZ DVI.
    So don't put too much worries in what xbench is reporting..
     

Share This Page