Got Panther but want to reinstall iChat...

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by CrackedButter, Nov 22, 2003.

  1. CrackedButter macrumors 68040

    CrackedButter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    51st State of America
    #1
    ...how do you do this. I searched the 3 cd's you get with panther and it isn't listed as a package and its not on apples website. Someone mentioned to me its on Disk 2 but i have alreayd looked.

    Anyone know why i cannot reinstall it? I didn't even remember that i uninstalled it.

    All the other Apples programs can be reinstall via the installation disks so why not ichat?
     
  2. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #2
    go download tinkertool and have it show hidden files. then search for ichat and you should find a package, i believe ichat is on disc 1.

    iJon
     
  3. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #3
    I could give you the command to unpax the file but I don't think it'll do much good since iChat requires some dependencies besides the app itself.

    It may be possible so give this a shot.

    On your first disc there should be a PKG file called Essentials.pkg. Navigate into the contents and you should find a file called Archive.pax.gz. Unzip it and you should have a ~400MB file on your Desktop or wherever Stuffit is set to extract the file. Open the Terminal and navigate to the directory where the pax file is using cd. Input this command:


    Code:
    pax -r -f Archive.pax
    Wait until it completes and you should find a new Applications folder with a bunch of apps inside, iChat should be one of them. If it doesn't work then, I'm not sure what else to do.

    Good luck,

    -V
     
  4. CrackedButter thread starter macrumors 68040

    CrackedButter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    51st State of America
    #4
    What a balls ache, thanks but no thanks. I'm not going to waste my time messing with hidden files and with command lines... i did this with linux.

    I'll just go without.
     
  5. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #5
    You could double-click on the essentials package and try to install ichat that way.
     
  6. CrackedButter thread starter macrumors 68040

    CrackedButter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Location:
    51st State of America
    #6
    Yeah i did that but it installs nothing anyway.
     
  7. Winged Youth macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    #7
    Thanks are in order

    I know this thread died a hell of a long time ago, but I took vniow's advice, and it saved my life.

    Just thought I'd thank him.
     

Share This Page