OS X Gothic 1 and 2 Wineskins ?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Washac, Feb 16, 2013.

  1. Washac, Feb 16, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2013

    macrumors 68000

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #1
    Anybody know where I can get Wine wrappers for GOGs Gothic 1 and 2 ?

    I tried the ones on The Porting Teams site, which are Crossover wrappers, I hate that program I never did get anything running under it. The wrappers after placing the program just keep telling me no program installed. I assume this is due to using the GOG versions.

    Also tried doing a wrapper myself for Gothic 1 using guidelines posted on The Porting Teams site, could'nt get that working either :(
     
  2. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #2
    Found this.

    Seems OK for me for the short time I have used it.

    SIte to get it from - http://www.paulthetall.com/mac-rpg-games.html

    Scroll down choose Gothic > Download > Download now > scroll down choose Slow Download well unless you want to pay that is.

    Once downloaded install Gothic into the Wineskin, once installed right click the Gothic icon > Open package > Double click Wineskin Icon > Open Advanced > Browse > drive_c > program files > GoG.com > gothic > system > click on GOTHIC.EXE > choose > Close Wineskin - Play Game.

    You may want to play around with screen resolutions etc but at leat it gets the game going.

    His Gothic 2 wrapper works also but it needs some wine wrapper tweaking which I do not know enough about to iron out the niggles.


    Have fun
     
  3. macrumors G3

    Renzatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Location:
    It's Never A Good Night To Have A Curse
    #3
    I'm not sure if WINE for OSX is the same thing, but I've had Gothic 1 up and running in Linux perfectly before.

    I didn't use a wrapper or any of the prepackaged dealies. Rather, I set up a virtual environment, ported some native .dlls over from Windows, gave Gothic it's own profile, and tweaked and tweaked and tweaked until I managed to get everything working. It wasn't the easiest experience in the world, but it is doable.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    blesscheese

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Central CA
    #4
    This is what I found to help set up Gothic on Wine (can't remember where I found it):

    btw, if you wanna use Wineskin (for Lion users):
    Make a Wrapper with W8Wine1.2.3.
    winetricks directmusic

    Then you need to do some config edits.
    The GOTHIC.INI is “system” inside the “Gothic” folder.
    Change to there values:
    scaleVideos=0
    --

    playLogoVideos=0
    disallowVideoInput=0
    --

    zVidDevice=0
    ; ... index of graphic-device beginning with zero.

    zVidResFullscreenX=1440
    zVidResFullscreenY=900
    zVidResFullscreenBPP=32
    (set your res here)

    zStartupWindowed=0

    Setting up Wine is easy! After you play around and fail miserably a couple of times. Once you have to start doing "Winetricks" stuff, I'm useless. But when it works, yee-haw! :D
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #5

    I tried this and could not get it working.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    blesscheese

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Central CA
    #6
    I think I know your pain. The first coupla' times I tried using Wine, I was there, like, WTF?

    Later on, after blowing a couple of hours, I realized it was simpler than I had thought. However, it still is a pretty complex tool. Play around with it, is all I can suggest.

    By the way, how are you enjoying the game?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #7
    I only played the first little bit upto where you meet the two hunters, the controls sure are a pain, wish I could use a controller for it which is where the gamer came from in the first place. Thing is at the moment I just got Oblivion up and running in Bootcamp and in Cluthz wrapper from The Porting Teams site, I have gotten back into that after a long break from playing it on the PS3.
     

Share This Page