Gradphics card to enable a G5 to run 1680 x 1050 monitors

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by hoya87eagle91, Feb 15, 2010.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #1
    Have searched this forum and mroogle to find a currently available graphics card for the G5 dual 2.0 to enable it to run twin 1680 x 1050 OR higher resolution monitors. The highy touted ATI X800 apparently doesn't run 1680x 1050...Thanks
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Why shouldn't the x800 run 1680x1050?

    Apples 20" Cinema displays use that resolution, hence I'm pretty sure the x800 can run it.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #3
    Course it can.

    I had a 9200 Pro 64Mb in a G4 MDD running 1600x1200!!
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    reebzor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #4
    My quicksilver G4 is running 1680x1050 right now.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #5
    The specs on the ATI website don't list that resolution for x800 but... Anyway, i'd just like something new that i can get from a reliable reseler , and i don't need x800. any other suggestions for cards available new today? Thanks
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Location:
    Among the starlings
    #6
    My G5 is running dual 20" monitors at 1680x1050 right now. Radeon 9650 IIRC.

    Considering Apple was selling 20", 23", and 30" cinema displays when I bought this thing, even the stock video cards from those machines should be able to run a single 20" at 1680x1050, and probably can handle a pair, although it might need to borrow some system memory.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #7
    It works! - running two mons @ 1680 x 1050 from a Radeon 9600 - a Dell 2005 FPW and an NEC p221W. Thanks for the input everyone
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #8
    New now? hahahahaa

    Good luck, if you do find a new compatible card you will be paying WAY over the odds for a new card for no point what so ever.

    Find a X1900/X800 or what not off ebay for pennies.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #9
    T Works after al!

    No need for a new card - It works! Thanks ( I posted that a few days ago)
     

Share This Page