Graduating in Spring, wait for buying a MacBook?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by motc777, Jan 20, 2006.

1. motc777 macrumors member

motc777

I graduate in Spring 2006 and thus my education discount goes out the window. I am told the Macbook Pro has the new Intel chip in it and if it does, would I be an idiot to buy one now while I still have my discount, or just wait for something else coming down the pike that I have no clue about because I'm new to Mac's, still use a PC, which makes me an asshat...

2. sixstorm, Jan 20, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 1, 2013

sixstorm macrumors regular

The main thing I would do is to take advantage of the edu discount while you have it. The MacBook Pro would be a great laptop to invest in/purchase; a very sexy lappy indeed. It's always great to save a hundred bucks or so in the process too!

3. motc777 thread starter macrumors member

motc777

O.k. That's what I thought too...BTW, will getting a MacBook Pro, and the MacBook being sexy and all, will that make me sexy as well? If it does, this could increase my chances of having another child...LOL

4. wattage macrumors 6502

wattage

Just curious, how much is the student discount for the MacBook Pro?

5. matperk macrumors 6502

6. wattage macrumors 6502

wattage

AppleCare is $150 I think, so you could rationalize the savings going toward more warranty if you need to.

7. excalibur313 macrumors 6502a

excalibur313

Applecare is more like $250. But you should definitely get it because if something breaks on a laptop it's hundreds of dollars to replace.

8. Dr_Maybe macrumors 6502

Dr_Maybe

Yeah, but then you spend hundreds of dollars on Applecare. And if it doesn't break you haven't spend anything.

9. wattage macrumors 6502

wattage

Yeah, it's $350, but 200 off would make it 150. I was unclear.

Applecare is totally worth it I feel, got me a new Optical drive when a disc was stuck.

10. motc777 thread starter macrumors member

motc777