Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas (Updating Issue)

Discussion in 'Mac Applications and Mac App Store' started by loon3y, Mar 19, 2012.

  1. macrumors 65816

    loon3y

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #1
    theres been an san andreas update, and every time i dl it, it bugs out saying i need to update it again.


    is there any way to fix this? and is my game even getting updated?


    i heard they really optimized the game so no more of that 2 second lag
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #2
    I had that issue. Uninstall the game, then reinstall and update.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    loon3y

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #3
    k, thank you
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Location:
    You don't want to know!
    #4
    I tried this, it still didn't work for me. I deleted it and reinstalled, but it doesn't even download. I must have "downloaded" it about 5 times now. I'm gonna try restarting.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    loon3y

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #5


    try restarting the computer, than delete the app and than reinstalling it.


    or delete the app, restart the computer than reinstall it.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Location:
    You don't want to know!
    #6
    I can't delete the app, it's not there to delete. When I deleted it, I kept downloading without it appearing anywhere on my filesystem.

    Okay, so the app is already deleted, so I guess I can follow this. I restarted the computer and tried to download it again and it works.

    Still though, I would have preferred I didn't waste a few hours redownloading it again and again. :mad:
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 65816

    loon3y

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #7


    complain to apple, or the developers. all these old "PC, PS/2" games are all buggy. i juz dl'd rome total war and its pretty buggy.

    than again I'm not complaining i don't use my mac for gaming, but i do get games to pass the time if I'm traveling or stuck somewhere
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Location:
    You don't want to know!
    #8
    I don't know about that, since I'm not a gamer, but I just found out that they pretty much just used Wine to port San Andreas over. If you look in the Application Support folder, the folder hierarchy is pretty similar to a Wine prefix directory. Plus, it says Wine and has the Windows directory hierarchy.

    Same here, I'm not a gamer, in the sense that it's not a high-ranked hobby of mine, but when I was on Windows, I used to game a lot. Now that more games are coming to Mac, I game more often (though not too much at all compared to the old days), so I guess platform influences my gaming habits.

    Now that the most annoying bug is ironed out, I'm also not complaining, I don't care how they ported it, it's a brilliant game and works nicely. It entertains me and keeps me busy, so it's doing its job right now. Plus, easy updates through MAS is a nice bonus.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 65816

    loon3y

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #9
    did it work ur san andreas?


    i haven't been PC gaming for while, but i haven't really been "gaming" like i did when i was in high school, just play the ps3 at times, but not everyday and not for hours.


    but i am trying to get a crazy gaming computer. just need one at least once in my life, might as well now because if i wait another couple years, ill probAbly lost all interest.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Location:
    You don't want to know!
    #10
    Yes, it now works perfectly. No freezes or hangs at all anymore.
     

Share This Page