Graphic Cards and Monitors

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by txf, Jan 16, 2003.

  1. txf macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    #1
    Hi,

    I want to attach 2 CRT monitors to my PM933, it has a GeoForce card. However since it only has one outlet for a CRT monitor. Can I buy another graphic card and use it together with the other card.

    What is the cheapest way to attach two CRT monitors.

    Thanks

    tXf
     
  2. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
    If you have two outlets on the back for monitors, an ADC and a VGA port on the GeForce card, you can get a ADC to VGA adapter -- or buy a PCI video card.
     
  3. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    What sort of GeForce card is it? (e.g. GeForce, GeForce 2, GeForce 3 or GeForce 4) Also what model number is it (e.g. GeForce 4's come in Ti4200, Ti4400 and Ti4600 as well as the slower MX series: Mx420, Mx440 and Mx460). If it's a reasonably new card it should have either a DVI or possible an ADC socket as well as the standard CRT socket. DVI contains standard VGA as well as the digital signal - you can get a converter cable to turn DVI to VGA. ADC is simply DVI + Power + USB. You can get a cable to turn ADC->DVI (and maybe ADC->VGA). If you have either of these ports then the cheapest solution is probably a convertor.
     
  4. gotohamish macrumors 65816

    gotohamish

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2001
    Location:
    BKLN
    #4
    Re: Graphic Cards and Monitors

    If the card is capable of dual screen support, then you just need a converter from ADC to VGA (in fact it might be ADC-->DVI-->VGA).

    If not, then yes, you'll need a PCI Graphics card, of which your only choice really is the ATI Radeon PCI 7000.

    Hamish
     
  5. txf thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    #5
    Thanks, it does have both the AC and VGA port. I guess the converter seems to be the best deal.

    The converter themselves are expensive, does it make sense to shell out a lil more and get an additional graphic card.

    *about the card I have, its a GeoForce MX, I think.. it the one that came before the Ti
     
  6. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Expensive?

    Are you sure you are looking at ADC->VGA converters, not VGA->ADC converters. Here is one for less than $30 (I am assuming you are in the USA):
    http://www.megamacs.com/v1/?action=view&pid=1351089

    Note: I do not know if this is a good place to buy from!
     
  7. txf thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    #7
    Yes thats what I was looking for .. thanks.. No I am not in the US, I am in Japan, I thought saw the same thing here for much more..

    ADC>VGA, so that I could use an extra CRT on the ADC port
     

Share This Page