Graphic Design Rig

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Freddy, Feb 13, 2004.

1. Freddy macrumors newbie

Hey, I am looking for some information on what I should buy. I will be doing alot of graphic and website designing, and for price I would like to keep it around 2500 bucks for the actual system(not including any programs, except OS). And I just need some information on what would be the best stuff to get. I am totally new to Macs, I have always used PCs. Also what are some programs avalible for Macs that are good for design? I really like PhotoShop CS on the PC, is there an equivilant for a Mac? Or is there a version of it for a Mac? I pretty much need to know everything about Macs as far as design goes, and what I should have on it. Thanks alot

Freddy

2. Hemingray macrumors 68030

Hemingray

As a fellow graphic designer, welcome to the Mac side! :)

If you're looking at about $2500, I would recommend a "fully-loaded" low-end G5, or failing that, a fully-loaded refurb dual processor G4. But that's not including the cost of a monitor if you need one.

Yes, there is Photoshop CS for the Mac, along with almost every other Adobe product as well.

I'll leave it up to the other posters to fill in the gaps. Good luck to you!

3. JohnnyTwoToes macrumors member

Get yourself as much ram as you can. If that means going to middle end system over the high end, do it still. RAM makes your apps happy :)

4. virividox macrumors 601

virividox

Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    the stock dual 1.8, 512 ram (2x 256) is 2499 but without a monitor.

there is photoshop cs mac version.

the sweetspot for ram is supposedly 2 gb. most design programs have a mac version, and wacom tablets support macs just in case ur wondering.

5. Freddy thread starter macrumors newbie