Graphic Design Student

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by TheHorseKilla, Jun 26, 2005.

1. TheHorseKilla macrumors newbie

Jun 26, 2005
    I am a design student in need of a computer for the coming semester. I will be using the Creative Suite and later on Macromedia. I have decided to get a PowerBook with 1 gig RAM SuperDrive 128 meg video card. I am just curious about the video card, is that overkill? Are there any other options I might explore? And finally, how is Crucial's RAM? Their RAM is much cheaper than Apple's RAM upgrade. Thanks.
  2. jefhatfield Retired

Jul 9, 2000
    sounds like a good choice

128 mb video ram is more than enough for your standard graphic design uses

the powerbook has a port where you can connect a large lcd screen so you have that option

...and you won't want to do homework all day, so the 128 mb of video ram will come in handy for gaming
  3. tuartboy macrumors 6502a

May 10, 2005
    you are forgetting one thing though...

Hard drive space.

I have a 200 Gb drive in a PC acting as a fileserver for my powerbook and it's right full by now. I have multiple 1.5 GB photoshop files left over from my Digital Compositing class alone. And If you ever do video, DV is almost 4 meg a second and uncompressed out from after effects is like 30 or so.

Time to get that new 500 GB seagate that everyone's raving about...
  4. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

Jaffa Cake

Aug 1, 2004
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    Don't forget either that as a student you'll be eligible for the educational discount – that should help your budget a little. :)
  5. eXan macrumors 601

Jan 10, 2005
    Dont waste your money. 64 meg of VRAM is more than enough for imahe work. Its also enough to play most games
  6. icarusflies macrumors member

Jun 15, 2005
    64mb is more than enough.

I manage the design department in a busy magazine publishers.
    OK we are about to upgrade to PMG5s but we are using