Graphic design: Why Mac?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by potassium, Jan 5, 2006.

1. potassium macrumors newbie

Hey everyone. I'm a newbie here

I use Windows and Mac and am not really inclined towards one over the other. i use them both for different things. (Although I have slightly more of a fondness for Macs!)

Anyway I was wondering... why are Macs more widely used/preffered in the graphic design industry over PCs? I've seen and slightly dabbled with programs like Photoshop etc on both OS's and they seem pretty similar on both, so it made me wonder why Macs have such a reputation for being better for design work? Is it to do with hardware, the greater stability of OS X etc..? Just curious

2. stevep macrumors 6502a

stevep

Historically, Macs were always the choice of professional designers, and it probably started with programs like Paintbox (I think that's what it was called) and desktop publishing programs. Nowadays the difference is less clear cut, with many programs giving good cross-platform compatibility (like the Macromedia and Adobe suites).
    Designers and other creative types being what they are though, have an appreciation of good design, and generally speaking the modern Mac just looks right in a studio.
    At the moment I'm typing this on a Mac Mini, linked to a KVM switch, linked to a WinXP box. I prefer the looks, quietness and stability of the Mac and its OS, but occasionally have to switch back to the PC for a few native windows apps. I know which I prefer.

Edit: Paintbox was actually the name of a graphics workstation, made by Quantel I think, not a Mac at all. But the early Macs had better screen res than their PC counterparts, and a decent mouse with an OS that used it.

3. yellow Moderator emeritus

yellow

Originally, because Macs actually had WYSIWYG. It was something the PC just couldn't do. Now, that's not as true as it used to be, so having Macs is not a sure thing.. but for some, it's kind of a legacy thing.