Graphics card doesn't work with 10.2 help

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by robotrenegade, Sep 10, 2002.

  1. robotrenegade macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
    #1
    I have two apple flat pannels. I got a 2nd graphics card for the 2nd pannel. It a Radeon Mac Edition 32MD DDR. It ran great in 10.1. In 10.2 my computer will not even load up. It says to shut down or restart. Neither of these things work. Can some one help me?
     
  2. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
  3. robotrenegade thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
    #3
    Ati site

    Says "Mac OS X 10.2 (Jaguar). Drivers are supplied as part of the OS."
     
  4. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #4
    hmm...

    are there any osx compatible drivers at the site at all?

    if so, couldn't hurt to grab the latest to be sure


    hmm.. not sure.
     
  5. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #5
    try taking out the second card...booting into 10.2...shutting down...installing the card without display attached, boot into 10.2...if it boots fine, attach display.
     
  6. robotrenegade thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
  7. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #8
    I don't get that article at all.

    I'm running 10.2 on a G4 400 tower at work with a Rage Pro (8 MB, I think) added for second monitor...not a problem at all.

    The only thing I can think of is that the my Rage card was taken from a B&W G3, Apple config...all Apple parts...who knows...:rolleyes:
     
  8. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
  9. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #10
    Re: GASP!

    All he had to do was turn left...;)
     
  10. G5orbust macrumors 65816

    G5orbust

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    #11
    Re: Graphics card doesn't work with 10.2 help


    Yur running a Dp 800 and ur primary vid card is a GF3 Ti 500, eh? So ur running another vid card though PCI, right?? That might be your problem. OSX 10.2 might not support vid cards though PCI taht run a primary display. I tihnk this is why apple provides dual monitor suppoort.
     
  11. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #12
    Re: Re: Graphics card doesn't work with 10.2 help

    Ummm...what do you mean by primary?

    I'm able to switch back and forth between having menus/dock on either video card in 10.2. I'm on a G4 450 with a Rage Pro in a PCI slot...
     
  12. G5orbust macrumors 65816

    G5orbust

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    #13
    Re: Re: Re: Graphics card doesn't work with 10.2 help


    Sorry, i jsut realized that primary isnt the right word. By primary, I mean the graphics card in the AGP slot. Sorry for any confusion. Do u think, tho, taht 10.2 might have trouble accepting two graphics cards on two different busses?? I tihnk this because PCi doesnt have an much bandwith as AGP and the computer might have trouble displaying visuals when one source is faster then the other. Especially with all those fancy quartz extreme things.
     
  13. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #14
    Re: Re: Re: Re: Graphics card doesn't work with 10.2 help

    Hmmm...so like a QE supoorted card and an unsupported card...that could be it. Both of mine are unsupported...I'll have to do a test once my new machine comes at work.
     

Share This Page