Graphics Card for Aperture

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by skippy64, Jan 18, 2006.

  1. skippy64 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    North West England
    #1
    What graphics card for a G5 1.8Dual (1.5gb of Ram) has anybody upgraded to so that they can use Aperture. I'm thinking about the ATI RADEON 9600PRO but if anyone has other suggestions it would be appreciated. Just had a demo today at local Apple store and I've decided to take the plunge now as I can quite happily integrate it into my workflow now ahead of any major updates.
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    I still say something with a bit more power then the Radeon 9600 Pro
     
  3. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #3
    Get the X800 XT; you'll be disappointed with much else.
     
  4. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #4
    i have the 9600 and it does the job ok -but then i do have 3gb RAM
     
  5. skippy64 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    North West England
    #5
    Many thanks for that, I'll have a scan on the net now
     
  6. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #6
    My advice for you as well.
     
  7. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #7
  8. skippy64 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    North West England
    #8
  9. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #9
    Sorry, I did not take that into consideration. :eek:
     

Share This Page