Graphics Card for Gaming and Workstation

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jcodyg, Jan 12, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    #1
    I am going to purchase a Mac Pro and put a Quadro 4000 in for a workstation computer. However, I will want to play games on it. What could I put in for a second graphics card?
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA USA
    #2
    Um just use the Quattro, but your better off getting a gtx 5xx or 6xx!
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    El Awesome

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Zurich
    #3
    Get a Nvidia GTX 570 2560MB. It rips the Quadro 4000 in everything, inlcusive GPU-heavy working. And plays every game on good settings. And costs half as much as the Quadro 4k.
     
  4. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #4
    And sadly right now they are about as easy to find as the Holy Grail.
     
  5. tjlazer, Jan 13, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2013

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA USA
    #5
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    #6
    Would I be able to still have the quadro 4000 in combination with the GTX 660ti? I need the quadro4k for work.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #7
    Your quadro 4000 has TDP of 142W and one 6-pin power connector. The GTX 660ti has two 6-pin connectors and TDP of 150W. As long as you don't buy any overclocked or supercharged version of 660ti, you could be fine within the 300W limit (75w x 2 from two auxiliary power ports and 75W x 2 from PCIe slot). However you need a special cable connector like this to deal with the extra 6-pin connector on the GTX 660ti and split one auxiliary power source between the two video cards (use another cable to the other 6-pin connector). Or you could get a GTX 660 which has only one 6-pin connector and 140W TDP, and save all the troubles.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #8
    If I remember correctly the GTX cards do not have an EFI, and hence will not work until th drivers are loaded, i.e. not work in the boot sequence screen. However, the Radeon HD7970 will, and it's almost as fast...
     

Share This Page