Graphics card issues with PowerMac G4 AGP

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by orangejedi, May 12, 2008.

1. macrumors newbie

okay... i'm new at this so i'm probably doing something wrong :D , but anyway, i just got an old PowerMac G4 (AGP Graphics) for free! I have already installed a newer, 80GB hard drive i had and installed extra RAM. I also bought an ATI RAGE 128 graphics card with 32mb VRam. I am aware that the computer's standard card is a RAGE 128 with 16mb of vram, so i figured the new one should work. However, since there's only one AGP slot on the powermac, i had to remove the original, and i cannot get any display output from the new card. The computer is running OS 10.3.8 Panther, and i was led to believe that this would include drivers for cards from 1998-99-ish, the time period in which this card says it is from. is there something i'm doing wrong? or is the card just not compatible? here's the detail on the mac:

PowerMac G4 (AGP Graphics)
    450MHz (single core)
    512Mb RAM
    80Gb HDD
    DVD-ROM

If anyone could help fix the issue or point me in the direction of a good card it would be greatly appreciated.

2. Moderator emeritus

yellow

At the Risk of exposing my ignorance of whether the Rage 128 was Mac only to begin with.. :)

Is it a Mac version of the card?

Or just a Rage 128 you picked up was was likely in a PC?

3. thread starter macrumors newbie

I thought of that, but i'm not really sure.
    I don't know much about mac cards vs pc cards, but appearently there's a difference...
    That's probably the problem, though. thanks.
    Do you have any suggestions as to what to buy next time?

4. Moderator emeritus

yellow

Do a little google searching, you might be able to flash that card to have it work in a Mac, assuming it was a PC card.

Otherwise..

Check out OWC (http://www.macsales.com).
    Great site, and should be easy to find which card will work for that Mac.

5. macrumors 65816