Graphics card issues with PowerMac G4 AGP

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by orangejedi, May 12, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    #1
    okay... i'm new at this so i'm probably doing something wrong :D , but anyway, i just got an old PowerMac G4 (AGP Graphics) for free! I have already installed a newer, 80GB hard drive i had and installed extra RAM. I also bought an ATI RAGE 128 graphics card with 32mb VRam. I am aware that the computer's standard card is a RAGE 128 with 16mb of vram, so i figured the new one should work. However, since there's only one AGP slot on the powermac, i had to remove the original, and i cannot get any display output from the new card. The computer is running OS 10.3.8 Panther, and i was led to believe that this would include drivers for cards from 1998-99-ish, the time period in which this card says it is from. is there something i'm doing wrong? or is the card just not compatible? here's the detail on the mac:

    PowerMac G4 (AGP Graphics)
    450MHz (single core)
    512Mb RAM
    80Gb HDD
    DVD-ROM

    If anyone could help fix the issue or point me in the direction of a good card it would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    At the Risk of exposing my ignorance of whether the Rage 128 was Mac only to begin with.. :)

    Is it a Mac version of the card?

    Or just a Rage 128 you picked up was was likely in a PC?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    #3
    I thought of that, but i'm not really sure.
    I don't know much about mac cards vs pc cards, but appearently there's a difference...
    That's probably the problem, though. thanks.
    Do you have any suggestions as to what to buy next time?
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    Do a little google searching, you might be able to flash that card to have it work in a Mac, assuming it was a PC card.

    Otherwise..

    Check out OWC (http://www.macsales.com).
    Great site, and should be easy to find which card will work for that Mac.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #5
    They never made a 32MB ATI Rage 128 for the Mac, unless you mean a Nexus, which is a Rage 128-based card; what you have might be an AIW card (hopefully not, since they weren't made for Mac)... or probably just some other PC card which isn't for the Mac. Not a problem, though, you can always just flash it to work on the Mac, assuming you've got a PC from which to do so.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    #6
    wait a minute...
    flash-what?
    yes i do have a pc...
    please tell me how to do this!!!:D
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Dave H

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    California
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #8
    My G4/500 came with the ATI Rage 128, I upgraded to the original ATI Radeon 32MB when a guy threw one in for free with a display, and now I'm using an ATI 9200 AGP that is a flashed PC card because I needed dual display support (ATI only made a PCI 9200 for Mac). I bought the 9200 flashed so I don't know how to do it but it's been 99% trouble free, so if you can flash that 32MB card of yours you should be in good shape.
     

Share This Page