Graphics Designer

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by 666army, Jun 25, 2006.

  1. 666army macrumors newbie

    666army

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Location:
    Egypt
    #1
    Ok, so in a couple of months I'm going to be studying Graphics Designing. And I love the MacBook and can afford it right now, however, the video card of the MacBook is 64 MB which is too little to use for Graphics Designing.

    I'm currently using a Toshiba laptop and am seriously fed up with Windows (especially after I tried my friend's iBook)

    So what do you guys think I should do?
     
  2. SheriffParker macrumors 6502a

    SheriffParker

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Location:
    The land of love
    #2
    Actually, if you are just going to be working on 2D stuff like photoshop or final cut pro, the macbook will match the speed of the MBP.

    The video card in the pro machines will only help with 3D modeling and rendering. So things like 3D games will play, and if you are going to do any 3D CAD modeling or 3D animation... you'll need the video card.

    But for most graphic design work and 2D processing, the Core Duo is going to do most of the work. The GMA 950 integrated graphics will be more than sufficient for you.
     
  3. rhsgolfer33 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    #3
    What kind of graphics are you talking about? CS2(Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign) work? Or Final Cut Pro video work?

    The macbook would be great for photoshop type work, but Adobe hasnt come out with and from what I understand doesnt planning on coming out with a CS2 ub, but CS3(or whatever itll be called) will be. So itll run kind of slow for now, but once its universal itll be blazin on a macbook. Graphics card doesnt really affect performance in Photoshop type work. I dont know much about web design so I cant speak for that. If youre looking to do stuff with Final Cut Pro you wouldnt really want to be using a macbook, from what Ive heard it runs, but youd be much better of with a MBP or preferably a desktop.
     
  4. 666army thread starter macrumors newbie

    666army

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Location:
    Egypt
    #4
    Yes, my work will involve 2D Graphics but mostly it's all 3D. I'll be working with programs like "Maya" or "3D Studio".

    I already have a desktop but that's a PC too. And the reason I don't want to buy a MBP (other than its price) is because I already own a 15" laptop and I hate it; I need a smaller one
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    Then you're pooched. There is no machine that meets your criteria.
     
  6. 666army thread starter macrumors newbie

    666army

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Location:
    Egypt
    #6
    Please say you're joking lol.

    After I've used the Mac I feel like I can't live without it.
     
  7. zv470 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    Do yourself a favor, buy an Amiga 500, this will teach you that you don't need $10,000 hardware to do graphics. :rolleyes:
     
  8. 666army thread starter macrumors newbie

    666army

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Location:
    Egypt
    #8
    lol
     
  9. 666army thread starter macrumors newbie

    666army

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Location:
    Egypt
    #9
    Well I've been looking to see if I could upgrade the Video Card, but it isn't possible because it's "on the mother board" (was gonna say something else lol)

    Can I like get an external graphics card or something and put it on a MacBook?
     
  10. aog macrumors newbie

    aog

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Location:
    México.
    #10
    Well, he isn't joking. If you'll be doing 3D the macbook isn't for you, I think you'd appreciate the MBP's bigger screen & higher resolution for that kind of work...

    I don't think external graphics cards exist.
     
  11. 666army thread starter macrumors newbie

    666army

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Location:
    Egypt
    #11
    hmm.. probably, i'll probably go for the PowerBok G4 then.

    I'll still try to find a solution for the MacBook problem, thanks anyway guys.
     
  12. YS2003 macrumors 68020

    YS2003

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Location:
    Finally I have arrived.....
    #12
    Does current MBP (17" and high end 15") run FCP, After Effects, Cinema 3D, and other video and 3D programs well? I heard the G4 PBs will choke on FCP and some of those pro video and 3D programs. I am curious to know if the current MBP is sufficiently equipped to hande those heavy-duty graphic/video programs.

    On a thread somewhere on this forum, someone posted he was able to run FCP with MBP without problems.
     
  13. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #13
    No, I'm not. You've ruled out the MacBook Pro, and you have determined (prior to hearing any evidence, I might add) that the MacBook with embedded graphics isn't suitable.
    So you have set up preconditions that cannot be met by any Mac.

    You are not going to find a notebook with upgradeable graphics (other than a tiny number of desktop replacement monstre Windows machines).
     
  14. macintoshxiii macrumors regular

    macintoshxiii

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #14
    PowerBook G4 is awsome for me... I'm a multimedia deisgner (freelance) and I can run my stuff with no worries after all... not to sure bout the new intel breed could do better, perhaps this is why they exist...cuz they can!!! haha... anyway, does anyone here knows what is the max I can go to upgrade my video card? My ram reaching its max, currently is 1.5 Gb and was thinking how far can it go? More than 2 Gb? Can I say grab a 3gb? 4gb? to fully utilize its performance?
     
  15. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #15
    macintoshxiii you cannot upgrade your video card, and 2 GB is the max RAM you can have. So sadly, you're approaching the limit of your machine's ability. I think you could get a 2 Ghz G4 upgrade, but it would cost a lot of money and only get you 500 mhz.
     
  16. 666army thread starter macrumors newbie

    666army

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Location:
    Egypt
    #16
    Well I went searching on the boards, called the Apple Center, and called my university.

    The university told me that the video card should be 256MB or higher, and the apple center told me that the video card is 64 MB and you cannot change it due to it being on the mother board.
     
  17. silence macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    #17
    Sorry... i hate to admit but Macs just don't cut it in the 3D animation/modelling industry. "Graphic Design" as in 2D stuff, web design and print etc. is what the Mac is best at.

    Unfortunately, Mac is still yet to prove itself in the 3D world. Industry standard programs such as Maya don't even exist for the Mac. I have many friends working in prominent animation and 3D positions, and all the company's they work for actually use PC's.

    Luckily i don't need this sorta thing in my line of work, and my MBP is the best i could ever get for print and web work.. but it makes you wonder why Apple aren't trying to get into the 3D Animation/modelling market.

    Just my 2c
     
  18. 666army thread starter macrumors newbie

    666army

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Location:
    Egypt
    #18
    Oh I see, well okay. I'm actually thinking about changing my career plans to get the Mac lol.

    No but seriously, won't it work on 3D Animation, Modelling, and Virtual Reality?

    Because if it does I can easily switch from Graphics Design into Multimedia & Information Design which is close to Graphics and more appealing.
     
  19. YS2003 macrumors 68020

    YS2003

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Location:
    Finally I have arrived.....
    #19
    But, Maya has the Mac edition as well. So does Cinema 3D (I have a learner's edition to test it out before I buy it). Even the open source blender has the Mac edition (I have the one right on my Mac).
     
  20. aog macrumors newbie

    aog

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Location:
    México.
    #20
  21. Artful Dodger macrumors 68020

    Artful Dodger

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    In a false sense of reality...My Mind!
    #21
    I know your joking about this since Maya is out for the Mac and you can get the personal learning download for free. I have seen the full version of Maya for the Mac back in 2004 at school.
    Also Mr. Anderson does 3D work using his Quad :cool:
     
  22. silence macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    #22
    Well i'll be damned!! :eek:

    I had no idea Maya was out for Mac already... Not that i have any use for it myself...

    Still.. I don't see any pro companies using Macs for these types of applications, especilally with animation and games etc. I think it'd be safe to say that PC's are still dominating this particular field at present, which is something I think needs to change ASAP ;)

    As for straight-out graphics and print i hope that Macs are still leading the way
     
  23. macintoshxiii macrumors regular

    macintoshxiii

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    #23
    QCassidy352 thank you for your information... it is so sad to hear such a news...
     
  24. batman123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    Some Place Only You Know...
    #24
    remind me agian why you ruled out the 15" Macbook Pro?:confused: Because the 2.16 GHz model with sufficient RAM comes with a 256mb vcard. And that is what you are after. If all of the programs you need also have mac version, its is most likely because they CAN run on macs. And the 15" is not unportable and it only weighs bout 2.5kg....so...maby...you should consider it...;)

    Batman.
     
  25. chaosbunny macrumors 68000

    chaosbunny

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    down to earth, far away from any clouds
    #25
    Apart from the graphics card for 3D Work the 13" mb is not a good idea because of screen size. Unlike in Photoshop etc. you don't have 1 work space and the tools palettes, you actually have 4 work spaces most of the time. You have the top, front, side & complete view. On the 13" screen these 4 views will be reduced to almost stamp size, making it extremely hard to get any work done.

    Correct me if I'm wrong, I do very little 3D work and can only tell my personal experience.
     

Share This Page