Graphics Student... 17" powerbook or G5 tower

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by matt1190, Oct 26, 2005.

1. matt1190 macrumors newbie

So I'm kinda stuck right now. I know I'm going to be buying an Apple very soon but I need an outside opinion. I'm a Graphic Design student primarily working with Adobe CS products, and light AfterEffects useage.

I've narrowed it down between a new 17" Powerbook or new dual 2.3 G5 tower and 20" display. An upgrade in memory will happen with either decision.
    I'd like to have something portable since I do a lot of running around. But then again, I love screen size and have a habit of being creative/productive in one place for hours at a time. Perhaps a laptop might change this?? It'd be nice to be able to present designs and projects to professors/clients... anywhere. I've never owned a laptop. Will I possibly be enlightened to some miraculous state of being upon owning one?

single 1.67ghz vs dual 2.3ghz
    120gb hd vs 250gb hd
    portable, kinda limited vs solid, wont be out dated for awhile
    ATI 9700 -128MB DDR vs NVIDIA 6600 -256MB GDDR SDRAM
    sick as hell vs sick as hell
    $2300 vs $3000

I have been struggling with this for the last two weeks! What do you guys think? All input is much appreciated!!

-Matt

2. jer2eydevil88 macrumors regular

jer2eydevil88

If you need this machine for 2 - 3 years in production with today's software you should look at the dual cpu rig.

If you need portability more and don't mind that the current powerbooks will be VERY dated looking when the Intel lineup comes out then go with a powerbook.

The 17" powerbook is far from a very portable notebook though and its more of a desktop replacement machine due to the size of the beast.

All in all both can truley handle your tasks the g5 will obviously do a better job at this time but you lose the mobility.