graphics work > CRT or LCD?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by robins2001, Dec 29, 2003.

1. robins2001 macrumors member

Hi

I am a digital illustrator so i work with alot of graphics apps, mainly photoshop, illustrator, in design and director. I am also soon to be producing 3D work in lightwave and formZ.

What I am basically here to ask is, for this sort of work are the current LCD's up to the task?

I know the argument is that for professional graphics use, CRTs are/were better but how do the likes of the Apple LCDs and Formacs 1740 (which i am considering buying)

Ive heard that on LCDs dark browns and greys will appear black, is this true with contrast ratios of 400:1?

I just need reasuring before I pay out the money for an LCD

Sorry if this has already been covered 1000 times b4.

Thanks

2. thehuncamunca macrumors 6502

for graphics work where color matters or for gaming, CRT's are the way to go LCD's still can't compete with them for color and aren't that great outside their native resolution

3. robins2001 thread starter macrumors member

but dont you think all digital lcds like the formac series will be sufficient for my sort of stuff? i mean, dont get me wrong, i dont need 100% perfect colour for print or anything, just a good display which is nice to work on... i wouldnt mind an lcd for the brightness and the fact that they dont mess with your eyes like crts can do

4. beatle888 macrumors 68000

beatle888

pop in a 3d animation movie and see if you like the quality. if not, get a crt.

5. manitoubalck macrumors 6502a

manitoubalck

CRT 23"Flat Screen, spend the left over on RAM

6. joelypolly macrumors 6502

Some of the Samsungs are around 98-99% colour accurate however they have slow refresh thems (means bad for games or movies). this is only true if you set time up right e.g. with some sort of calibrator.

7. jtown macrumors 6502