Green Light for Audi R8

Discussion in 'Current Events' started by alexstein, Nov 15, 2005.

1. alexstein macrumors 6502a

alexstein

Audi just made an official statement that they are going to built a new Audi sports car called the R8. This car will be heavily based on the Audi Concept car "Le Mans" that was first presented to the public in 2003.

Audi R8

I hope Audi goes the same route with this car as they did with the TT back in the day. When the TT first debut Audi only made minor changes before the car went into production. Unfortunately the article does not go into any detail about drive train or chassis configuration.

2. clayj macrumors 604

clayj

I've been drooling over this car since 2003... still got a picture of it up on my fridge.

Sadly, the picture shown on that page is already out-of-date... I've seen newer spy pics that don't look as good...

3. alexstein thread starter macrumors 6502a

alexstein

Yes you are right. I wish they would have shown a real picture of the car rather then the old image of the concept. However I have not seen any spy pics or engine configurations whatsoever. If you have any feel free to post them.

4. jeffy.dee-lux macrumors 6502a

5. portent macrumors 6502a

Will this replace the TT, or will Audi keep that alongside?

6. clayj macrumors 604

clayj

No, this is a "supercar" in the $80K - $120K range (probably at the high end of that range)... its competition is the Lamborghini Gallardo and a couple of models of Ferrari and Porsche.

The TT will continue, although it too is being redesigned in a way which I do NOT find appealing. (Says Clay, the owner of 2 TTs... a 2000, and now a 2002 quattro.)

7. Abstract macrumors Penryn

Abstract

Is that ugly red 4 door sedan the "R8"?? :mad:

Like the 2 door sporty one much better, obviously. Why ruin a good thing?

Oh wait, is this R8 the name of the car that'll get the same engine as the Gallardo (but slightly modified/better)??

8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew